We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Tari

Il Tari
P. Capuano, Amalfi, Italy
089/871832
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 100 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Chowder, Pasta, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Normandie
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We ended in this restaurant because the one we had choosen was closed on monday ! We has a nice meal, with fresh fish and seashells. We had a very funny conversation with the waiter who told us about the race hapening in Amalfi, a Regatta of the Ancient Maritime Republics !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    245
    72
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food. Great value ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

One if the best priced restaurants we visited in Amalfi. Every plate was delicious including dessert. Definitely worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waltham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place is a little bit further up the main drag in Amalfi, and looks cute but can easily be passed by, but we are very glad we found it and decided to drop in for an excellent lunch. The menu is extensive but thoughtful and indicates quality. The buffalo mozzarella was the top 2 we had over 10 days throughout Italy. Best soup we had on our trip. Excellent pasta dishes. Very courteous service. Nice wine, at great prices. Walk past all the places lower down and head up to Il Tari for an authentic meal with welcoming service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Rather ordinary food in a clean busy setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had eaten here a couple of years ago and found the food satisfactory.
This time I would describe the food as "tourist" style rather than real Italian cooking.
The quality was ordinary as was the taste.
Service was good though.
If you are seeking good Italian food - give it a pass!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice food, reasonably priced. Good for dinner in Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place serves quite good pastas for reasonable prices.
We went there for a light supper, and ordered tomato salad for starter, which was seasoned well, alongside minestrone soup and pasta with pesto sauce. Portions were pretty large and the dishes were very filling, as well as delicious, though not extraordinary.
service was fine too, and the waiters were kind, but as almost in any restaurant in Amalfi, there are some uninvited singers that will make some unwanted noise in this quiet place...
Generally, it is a good place for dinner in Amalfi, and you'll probably won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Tari also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Tari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Tari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.