We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Great value ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Tari

Il Tari
P. Capuano, Amalfi, Italy
089/871832
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 94 Restaurants in Amalfi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food. Great value ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

One if the best priced restaurants we visited in Amalfi. Every plate was delicious including dessert. Definitely worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    176
    53
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
waltham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place is a little bit further up the main drag in Amalfi, and looks cute but can easily be passed by, but we are very glad we found it and decided to drop in for an excellent lunch. The menu is extensive but thoughtful and indicates quality. The buffalo mozzarella was the top 2 we had over 10 days throughout Italy. Best soup we had on our trip. Excellent pasta dishes. Very courteous service. Nice wine, at great prices. Walk past all the places lower down and head up to Il Tari for an authentic meal with welcoming service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Rather ordinary food in a clean busy setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had eaten here a couple of years ago and found the food satisfactory.
This time I would describe the food as "tourist" style rather than real Italian cooking.
The quality was ordinary as was the taste.
Service was good though.
If you are seeking good Italian food - give it a pass!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice food, reasonably priced. Good for dinner in Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place serves quite good pastas for reasonable prices.
We went there for a light supper, and ordered tomato salad for starter, which was seasoned well, alongside minestrone soup and pasta with pesto sauce. Portions were pretty large and the dishes were very filling, as well as delicious, though not extraordinary.
service was fine too, and the waiters were kind, but as almost in any restaurant in Amalfi, there are some uninvited singers that will make some unwanted noise in this quiet place...
Generally, it is a good place for dinner in Amalfi, and you'll probably won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Walked out!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Went in about 7pm, shown to a choice of tables then just ignored. Got the attention of one of the waiters, who clearly didn't speak English, who brought us to the attention of another colleague. The second one gave us that 'let them wait they're only tourists' routine of failing to make eye contact, looking everywhere else but at us and busied himself dealing with people who had walked in way after us. After a quarter of an hour of being ignored we walked out, with no water, no drink or bread on the table. We didn't have the opportunity of seeing just how good their cuisine was; the menu certainly looked enticing but the service we failed to receive was never going to make this a memorable meal for us.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Tari also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Tari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Tari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.