We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Tari

Il Tari
P. Capuano, Amalfi, Italy
089/871832
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 98 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Chowder, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
cape town
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We ate dinner at this restaurant on our first night in Amalfi and what a pleasure it was. We all ordered the "Tourist Menu" @ Euro25. Our waiter was friendly, helpful and took a pride in his work. Before we even started our meal we were given delicious bruschetta to nibble on plus a basket of fresh crusty bread. There was a choice of 4 dishes per course catering to all tastes and the quality of every plate of food was excellent. Portions were just right and we came away replete and very impressed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    238
    72
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourist restaurant but they care about the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We decided to go to this restaurant on a whim and we were delightfully surprised. They offer a fantastic 3 course menu for 10 euros only. You can decide between spaghetti with muscles and clams, fish courses, soups... The table wine from Ravello was also lovely. They did mess up our order but on the whole this restaurant is definitely one to go to if you are looking for good food at reasonable prices! Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Been on a couple of occasions during our stay in Amalfi and not been at all disappointed. The service is good, as is the food (particularly the mussels with fried bread). Good range of dishes available and also a nice range of liqueurs to go with your coffee

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gets better every year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Went for the 20 euro fixed price lunch really good value.Started with good portion of spaghetti with clams and mussels in a terrific sauce with just a hint of chilli.Next a sea bass in potatoes and garlic with tomatoe,very good.Ending with a lemon ice.It really is good value and more importantly tasted great.We always make to this restaurant when in Amalfi and it has never disappointed us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful non-traditional pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Great pasta served in a family run restaurant midway up the Main Street. Friendly service and great quality. Meals make use of the local ingredients to move away from standard tourist fare.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Tari also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Tari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Tari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.