We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family-run hotel,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Costa d'Amalfi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Costa d'Amalfi to your Saves list
Locanda Costa d'Amalfi
Via G. Augustariccio 50, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 32 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good family-run hotel,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed 1 night in 2008 from May, 19th through 20th on our way from Sorrento to Salerno. Clean and comfortable hotel run by a nice young family. It was the off-pick season and we seemed to be the only guests in the hotel. 60 euros per 2 was a very reasonable price for us. Pretty quite and authentic.

Rooms are decorated in the traditional amalfian way adding to the charm of the place.

Really worth the money. Locanda Costa d'Amalfi is a very good option both in terms of comfort and the price. Recommend to everyone!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    46
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
96
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgian Bay, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in May 2013 in the Amalfi suite. It was fairly compact (the bathroom even more so), but delightful in local blue and yellow tiles and with a large deck overlooking the road and sea, we thought it was wonderful. Breakfasts on the patio outside in the morning were great, but fairly standard each morning. Our hosts were very attentive to our needs and more than willing to advise or assist when asked. We did have some difficulties with language, but their English was better than our Italian. We tried to alter our booked nights both through Booking.com and an email to the owners, but neither worked and we were charged for the full original booking. We thought the location was great, a little out of town, but Amalfi is a quick drive, or bus or 20 min. walk. Just be careful on the roads!

Room Tip: Can only comment on the Amalfi suite and it was fine for a short stay, but had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We planned to stay in this hotel for 1 night but after about one hour in our room we were covered by bed bugs. The owner didn't come to look but gave us the key to the next room. We decided to leave at around eleven o'clock and went to the nearby hotel Bellevue for a real clean room. Now after several days we are still itching. Stay away from Locanda Costa d'Amalfi

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronda9, Proprietario at Locanda Costa d'Amalfi, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We have contacted Trip Advisor, and by law we are obliged to reply to the "untrue" comments made on this website regarding our establishment before any further action can be taken. To begin with, this booking made through Booking.Com was classified by Booking .Com as a "No Show" as there was no stay in our B&B., infact you entered the room and left after 2 minutes with this terrible statement, in addition, you refused to go back to the room with us to show us what you think you might have seen. Therefore, we are convinced that it was just an excuse to leave, as you wanted a room with balcony, which was not available at that point in time as we were fully booked. We would also add that no payment was made by Booking.Com. as there was no check in on our part. We would invite anyone reading this to read the many wonderful comments we have received over the years!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Arrived in Amalfi and picked up by Pino. Although a few kilometres out of Amalfi, whenever we needed to go into town Pino had the car running. Breakfast was great and the rooms faultless. A reasonable restuarant next door if you didnot want to go into town. The view from our room was amazing. The main road was in front of the B&B but did not interupt our sleep. Buses we not that reliable but Pino worked around us

Room Tip: Young couples may choose to stay a bit closer to town, but we were more than happy with our arrangem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a Capri suite at locanda for 4 nights: it's quite a large apartment, big enough to accommodate up to 2 couples (bedroom+living room with 2 double beds), a small kitchenette and a beautiful terrace all covered with lemon trees, with a stunning view of the Amalfi bay. It's clean and comfortable, well situated, if you have a car: far enough from the crowded Amalfi streets, and at the same time, very close to all the points of interests on the Amalfi coast.
We enjoined our stay very much!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Great if you have independent transportation, otherwise you'll have a hard time moving around. Bus service is unpredictable and does not substitute efficiently for a car. The hotel is located on the one street that visits through all Amalfi coast villages and can get quite noisy at times. Breakfast is quite good and the owners are very flexible; see my review of the nearby restaurant to know why you shouldn't go there. The room was clean and spacious, with a view of the bay.

I heartily recommend it to anyone who does not need to stay in Amalfi proper, which is a walkable (but hefty) 4 kms. away. If you have no transportation of your own, though, the distance from Amalfi and Positano could be problematic.

Room Tip: Higher-up rooms are farther away from the street and should provide better sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Spent four nights at Locanda and while not in the center of Amalfi proper, it was never a problem for Filomena or her husband, Pino, to drive us into town. Actually, it was nice to be outside the city a bit due to the crowded city center. The rooms are small, but spotless, and the breakfast was great--just ask for what you want--i.e. I asked for fresh fruit and served fresh grapes, peaches and bananas. It will become clear when looking to book a hotel in the Amalfi area, that room rates are steep, so with the pricing coupled with the shuttle service and super clean rooms, Locana becomes an ideal choice for most people. Regards to Fiomena and Pino. Kenda Daniel, The Woodlands, Texas.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Costa d'Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Costa d'Amalfi

Address: Via G. Augustariccio 50, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Locanda Costa d'Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Costa d'Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.