We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning Bed Bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Costa d'Amalfi

Save Saved
You added Locanda Costa d'Amalfi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Costa d'Amalfi
Via G. Augustariccio 50, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 32 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Den Haag
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Warning Bed Bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We planned to stay in this hotel for 1 night but after about one hour in our room we were covered by bed bugs. The owner didn't come to look but gave us the key to the next room. We decided to leave at around eleven o'clock and went to the nearby hotel Bellevue for a real clean room. Now after several days we are still itching. Stay away from Locanda Costa d'Amalfi

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronda9, Proprietario at Locanda Costa d'Amalfi, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We have contacted Trip Advisor, and by law we are obliged to reply to the "untrue" comments made on this website regarding our establishment before any further action can be taken. To begin with, this booking made through Booking.Com was classified by Booking .Com as a "No Show" as there was no stay in our B&B., infact you entered the room and left after 2 minutes with this terrible statement, in addition, you refused to go back to the room with us to show us what you think you might have seen. Therefore, we are convinced that it was just an excuse to leave, as you wanted a room with balcony, which was not available at that point in time as we were fully booked. We would also add that no payment was made by Booking.Com. as there was no check in on our part. We would invite anyone reading this to read the many wonderful comments we have received over the years!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    44
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
29
93
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Arrived in Amalfi and picked up by Pino. Although a few kilometres out of Amalfi, whenever we needed to go into town Pino had the car running. Breakfast was great and the rooms faultless. A reasonable restuarant next door if you didnot want to go into town. The view from our room was amazing. The main road was in front of the B&B but did not interupt our sleep. Buses we not that reliable but Pino worked around us

Room Tip: Young couples may choose to stay a bit closer to town, but we were more than happy with our arrangem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a Capri suite at locanda for 4 nights: it's quite a large apartment, big enough to accommodate up to 2 couples (bedroom+living room with 2 double beds), a small kitchenette and a beautiful terrace all covered with lemon trees, with a stunning view of the Amalfi bay. It's clean and comfortable, well situated, if you have a car: far enough from the crowded Amalfi streets, and at the same time, very close to all the points of interests on the Amalfi coast.
We enjoined our stay very much!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Great if you have independent transportation, otherwise you'll have a hard time moving around. Bus service is unpredictable and does not substitute efficiently for a car. The hotel is located on the one street that visits through all Amalfi coast villages and can get quite noisy at times. Breakfast is quite good and the owners are very flexible; see my review of the nearby restaurant to know why you shouldn't go there. The room was clean and spacious, with a view of the bay.

I heartily recommend it to anyone who does not need to stay in Amalfi proper, which is a walkable (but hefty) 4 kms. away. If you have no transportation of your own, though, the distance from Amalfi and Positano could be problematic.

Room Tip: Higher-up rooms are farther away from the street and should provide better sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Spent four nights at Locanda and while not in the center of Amalfi proper, it was never a problem for Filomena or her husband, Pino, to drive us into town. Actually, it was nice to be outside the city a bit due to the crowded city center. The rooms are small, but spotless, and the breakfast was great--just ask for what you want--i.e. I asked for fresh fruit and served fresh grapes, peaches and bananas. It will become clear when looking to book a hotel in the Amalfi area, that room rates are steep, so with the pricing coupled with the shuttle service and super clean rooms, Locana becomes an ideal choice for most people. Regards to Fiomena and Pino. Kenda Daniel, The Woodlands, Texas.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Filomena & Pino are the most gracious of hosts I have encountered in many holiday destinations. Small and intimate hotel is centrally located, clean and a picturesque location. No hussle and bussle of too many patrons to delay coming and going. Filomena & Pino were always ready to coordinate driver's for day trips, such as Pompeii and transport us to the City Centre of Amalfi. Any questions and/or requests night or day was readily responded to by Filomena. Would help if you speak a little Italian, but online translations makes that situation resolved. I would totally recommend staying at the Locanda Costa d'Amalfi for a central and convenient location to the other grand cities of Amalfi. Thanks to you both, Pino and Filomena for making this trip a grand experience. Best to you both, Linda from Houston, Texas USA

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here for three nights and loved in. Comfortable bed, clean and spacious bathroom and A/C was great. Free Wifi. Breakfast was wonderful. Cappuccinos, pastries, lemon cake so delicious! Shirt walk from a beautiful more private beach. Location wasn't ideal had a hard time getting to and from as mentioned before. Only a couple expensive places to eat within walking distance was a downside. Filomena was very helpful with directions and ideas for our stay even gave us a ride into Amalfi to catch the ferry to our next stop. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Costa d'Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Costa d'Amalfi

Address: Via G. Augustariccio 50, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Locanda Costa d'Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Costa d'Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.