We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locanda Costa d'Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Costa d'Amalfi

Save Saved
You added Locanda Costa d'Amalfi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Costa d'Amalfi
Via G. Augustariccio 50, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 32 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Locanda Costa d'Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Filomena & Pino are the most gracious of hosts I have encountered in many holiday destinations. Small and intimate hotel is centrally located, clean and a picturesque location. No hussle and bussle of too many patrons to delay coming and going. Filomena & Pino were always ready to coordinate driver's for day trips, such as Pompeii and transport us to the City Centre of Amalfi. Any questions and/or requests night or day was readily responded to by Filomena. Would help if you speak a little Italian, but online translations makes that situation resolved. I would totally recommend staying at the Locanda Costa d'Amalfi for a central and convenient location to the other grand cities of Amalfi. Thanks to you both, Pino and Filomena for making this trip a grand experience. Best to you both, Linda from Houston, Texas USA

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    42
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
90
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Montana
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here for three nights and loved in. Comfortable bed, clean and spacious bathroom and A/C was great. Free Wifi. Breakfast was wonderful. Cappuccinos, pastries, lemon cake so delicious! Shirt walk from a beautiful more private beach. Location wasn't ideal had a hard time getting to and from as mentioned before. Only a couple expensive places to eat within walking distance was a downside. Filomena was very helpful with directions and ideas for our stay even gave us a ride into Amalfi to catch the ferry to our next stop. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed here for four nights and received such wonderful service from our friendly host Filomena. She helped us plan our boat trips, made homemade lemon cake for breakfast and very kindly arranged for us to be dropped off and picked up in Amalfi whenever we went to town for dinner or the beach. She even rang to book restaurants and get us the best table! Our friends stayed at a big impersonal hotel down the road for twice the price and got nowhere near the excellent service we were provided with. If you are looking for a friendly, relaxing hotel not too far from the Amalfi centre, then this is highly recommended. One of the best holidays, thank-you Locanda.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here in July and were really not impressed with it at all. Although it was one of the cheaper 'hotels' to stay in, it still didnt meet the requirements we were expecting. On our first night there we wanted to go into Amalfi town for dinner so the owners were good enough to bring is down, otherwise its a 20-25 minute walk on a very dangerous and windy road. before leaving we had asked them about the bus service which goes from Amalfi all day until 11.30 pm and drops tourists off at their hotels. They told us to get on, say then name of our hotel and they would drop us outside...not so simple!! We did all that but the bus driver had no idea and just kept driving at least one hour walk past our hotel and left us with no other choice but to get out and start walking back, in the pitch black on one of the most dangerous roads in Amalfi!! We were furious, not to mention absolutely terrified! Finally after some time walking a local man stopped and offered us a lift, under any other circumstances we would have refused but we were desperate! The next morning when we told the owners of Locanda they didnt even flinch and were extremely unapologetic. Very bad start! Things only got worse... In the middle of our stay I woke up one night itching everywhere to find ants literally crawling all over me..and I dont mean 5 or 6, I mean hundreds everywhere, all in my suitcase beside me and in our bed. It was disgraceful! My boyfriend went down to reception and told them immediately, a few minutes later the cleaner came up ith a sweeping brush and pan!!!! I couldnt believe it, they just didnt care!! Their reasoning for it was that 'they come from the flowers outside'... was that supposed to make me feel better? I was in shock!

Apart from all this, breakfast was OK. Nothing special, toast, some cheese, a pastry and coffee. A.C was broken and we could never get it working correctly so we were either always too hot or too cold..not ideal! Overall our experience at this hotel was not acceptable and I would not recommend it to anyone. Honestly if you are going to go all the way to Amalfi, pay that extra bit of money for a nice hotel in an unforgettable location and make your holiday worth it. Otherwise stay in Positano, far more beautiful and a lot more to do.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronda9, Proprietario at Locanda Costa d'Amalfi, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
After so many wonderful comments, it is sad to have a negative one. However, we would just like to add that even though our well run establishment is only a B&B, we do offer our Clients the possibilty to use our shuttle service to and from Amalfi, after bus service hours, which obviously do not depend on us. We would also like to point out that if people take food upto their rooms then it is adviseable to be careful as any crumbs will attract ants wherever you go, even in the best Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We spent three nights at Locanda Costa d'Amalfi. Though we can't really criticize it, we couldn't help thinking it lacked a soul and some authenticity, especially after visiting some of the amazing agriturismi in the countryside.

The breakfast was good (there is no buffet, you just ask for what you would like) but the terrace was right on the main road to Amalfi, which has a lot of traffic. We are both walkers and thought we wouldn't mind being out of town, but the 25-minute walk along that main road was very inconvenient, not to mention dangerous. (Thankfully we found it was possible to take a scenic upper path to Amalfi - something to do if you enjoy stairs.) Fortunately the owners took us to Amalfi by car for free, but it wasn't really the sort of experience we were looking for. The air conditioning in the room was behaving strangely, but we managed to have it turned off in the end as we both don't really like A/C. The two nearby restaurants are very good though not exactly cheap. Nice and affordable, but you'll definitely find more charming places on the coast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

This hotel has a couple major advantages - first the view. Admittedly, almost every hotel near Amalfi has a great view. This one also has parking, and parking that doesn't involve daredevil acrobatics with the car (a rare commodity on the Amalfi coast). Very friendly staff, the room was small but comfortable enough. We had a fantastic terrace as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

My husband and I spent a week in Italy for our 30th wedding anniversary. After a couple of days in Rome, we caught a train to Salerno, then a bus to Amalfi. The bus ride in itself is an adventure, following the somewhat tortuous route along the coastline. Locanda Costa d'Amalfi is located a little way out of Amalfi, but was just wonderful, with Filomena and Pino our very friendly and helpful hosts. Pino came into Amalfi to pick us up and Filomena was waiting to greet us on arrival. We booked the Positano room with a terrace and brilliant views across the ocean for 2 nights. The room itself was in cheerful colours with a nice bathroom and a good shower. We had breakfast downstairs in the mornings, a delicious filled croissant and coffee or tea. Also little packets of toast. There is a great restaurant next door with a very friendly host and terrific food. Filomena and Pino were just so helpful and obliging, we were very appreciative of all they did for us. They very generously offered to drive us to a nearby restaurant for dinner and then pick us up after. Filomena also got up early to give us breakfast and drive us into Amalfi on our last day so that we could catch an early bus to Salerno. We would very happily recommend the Locanda Costa d'Amalfi to all. Thank you so much Filomena and Pino for your superb hospitality, we hope to see you again one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda Costa d'Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Costa d'Amalfi

Address: Via G. Augustariccio 50, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Locanda Costa d'Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Costa d'Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.