We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming little pension, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Sant'Andrea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Albergo Sant'Andrea to your Saves list
Albergo Sant'Andrea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costanza d'Avalos, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A charming little pension, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

It is a very simple, clean place. Our room was very basic but still quite nice and charming. Very good value and great central location. Make sure to bring some ear plugs though. Our room was right in front of the Dome and we could hear each single noise coming from the square.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
32
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Located directly in the Amalfi square just 2 minutes from the beach, this hotel was a very nice place to stay. It was small and well kept, although the rooms were not so large and a little older looking. Nonetheless Maria maintains the hotel very well. Being so close to the Duomo, the bells are quite loud, but we are heavy sleepers and weren't bothered in the morning. Breakfast and A/C were included.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We went to Amalfi for a friend's wedding and wanted somewhere central and good value for money and San't Andrea definitely met our needs. Really sweet room and air conditioned but most of all the view of the square and church was amazing - you couldn't get any more central. It isn't the quietest of locations but we loved hearing the sounds of Amalfi outside our window and we became accustomed to the church bells. Basic breakfast, but coffee great and the staff were so lovely - would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

The main plus point about this hotel is it's location right above the main square. Our room looked onto the Duomo and it was lovely people watching from our room. The negatives include the room size, which is small, the bathroom which is dated and stained (our toilet seat was broken and the shower curtain needed a good scrub and repair) and the noise. We were woken at 3am on our first night by people playing football in the main square. We also didn't like that we had to leave our key hanging up in reception each time we left the hotel (there is no safety deposit box in the room). We opted not to have breakfast and paid only 75 euros a night - very cheap for Amalfi!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Fell in love all over again in the Albergo. This intimate hotel is full of individuality - prettily-painted wood, colourful tiles, Moorish entrance, great fishbowl and very amiable owners (PREGO!). Our double room felt seperate with its own entrance and cosy attic feel. Its' green-shuttered windows opened onto a side-street and the sounds which floated up and down echo fondly in memory. Character aside, the location is perfect and the albergo scores top marks for quality. (I cannot ESPRESS how much I loved my morning Espresso!)
Adored Amalfi. Prego U.F!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, Kent
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

We found this hotel through Lonely Planet and were surprised it was not already on TripAdvisor. The Albergo Sant' Andrea overlooks the main square in Amalfi and has a birds' eye view of the cathedral opposite. It is on the 1st floor above shops and below the Hotel Centrale which is also listed on TripAdvisor. It is more reasonably-priced than the Hotel Centrale and most other hotels in Amalfi but is incredibly central. It's a great place for watching the world go by but can be a bit noisy with people chatting in the square at night so either take some earplugs or lie there and listen to the sound of people enjoying themselves. The owners are very friendly, speak some English and own the pizzeria on the other side of the square.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

It was an excellent location...right in the heart of Amalfi. The room was very colourful as they use their handiwork (they are know for their ceramics) in the room. The view was terrific as it overlooks the main piazza and you can see the Duomo perfectly. The only negative was the church bells go off at 7:15am and continue to go off I believe every 1/2 hour after that. If you like to sleep in...forget it! You are right beside the church essentially. Excellent place though.

  • Liked — the location, the unique touch of having ceramics on the walls
  • Disliked — the church bells going off so early..but I'm a girl who likes her sleep-in in the mornings
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Sant'Andrea

Address: Costanza d'Avalos, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Sant'Andrea 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Sant'Andrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.