We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal in all of Europe.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Sant'Andrea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Sant'Andrea to your Saves list
Albergo Sant'Andrea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costanza d'Avalos, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best deal in all of Europe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel truly is, as the guidebooks say, the best deal in all of Europe. It's cheap (80 euros in high season), easy (online reservation, very available, friendly, helpful staff, good internet), and in the best location in the world, yes still quiet. You walk out into the main square of amalfi, minutes from everything, ready to take over the world.

Pro-tip: spend the money you save staying here to eat at Eolo! Get there by 7pm to get the best seat in the house. Spend the time and energy you save staying here to walk the Sentiero degli Dei (Path of the Gods).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
36
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed here for six nights in mid-May 2014. A wonderful, family-run hotel, I had a single room looking out on the central piazza and duomo. It was fun to look out and people watch. It's a one minute walk to the bus station and all kinds of restaurants are right outside the front door. If you're an early-to-bed type, be advised that some street noise seeps through the window (at least it did in my room). It wasn't enough, however, to keep me from sleeping.

My room was spotlessly clean and there was a nice breakfast provided every morning. The best thing about this hotel, besides its inexpensive rates relative to other hotels in Amalfi, is the people who run it. They are immensely kind and would say "ciao!" whenever we came across each other in town (happened a lot).

A note on the town: if you're debating where to stay on the Amalfi Coast, you'd do best to stay in Amalfi. Positano is even more touristy than Amalfi, which retains a sizable population of locals. Amalfi is also central for buses and boats to towns along the Coast. No part of the Amalfi Coast has been untouched by the tourist hoards, but Amalfi retains an authentic touch that places like Positano have largely lost.

Room Tip: The best rooms are no doubt those looking out on the piazza and the famous duomo, although the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Excellent location; clean and comfortable rooms; lovely, helpful staff person (Maria); very reasonable rates. Two minute walk to buses to Positano, Ravello, Salerno, etc. Lots of good restaurants within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you want a stunning view of Amalfi's wonderful Byzantine duomo, you can't do better than stay at the Albergo Sant'Andrea. Located in the very heart of Amalfi, you can watch the town tick from your hotel window, and hear its heart beat as the cathedral bells toll.

This is not a sleek first-class city hotel; it is small-town hospitality at its best. Rooms are adequate, comfortable, much like staying at a friend's place rather than at a commercial establishment. Maria Buonocore makes her guests feel truly welcome. Winter is low season and we were among the few guests at the Albergo but hospitality is second nature to the Buonocore family and the season is unlikely to change that. Not only did we get help with our luggage up the steps when we arrived, there was no mention of check-in/check-out times. A cup of coffee on arrival, time to unwind, and the register could be signed once we were ready...

Breakfast is continental, but second cups of coffee were always offered, as was juice/water, suggestions for restaurants, day trips, bus times, etc. We stayed a total of six nights in this vertical seaside town and from our window saw a wedding, a funeral, and a 40th wedding anniversary celebration take place at the duomo (which, as with most of Europe's best sights, is under renovation at the moment). The location is brilliant. Right across the street (mind the traffic!) from the bus station, from which buses negotiate the vertiginous routes to Positano, Ravello, Sorrento, Salerno, etc leave regularly. The square below is the meeting point for townsfolk, young and old, from morning to night. It is also the starting point for a procession of interesting little shops: handmade paper, gelato and cakes, ceramics, fruit and vegetables, clothing, handcrafts, even tiny "supermarkets" tucked into impossibly small spaces. And, of course, cafes and restaurants.

By the time we left, the Buonocores were fast friends: Guiseppe took our bags down to the bus stop, Maria and Zia were on hand to hug us goodbye. We weren't checking out of an hotel, we were saying "Arriverderci" to dear family friends we knew we would miss.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the duomo, as long as you like the sound of church bells and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location is easy to get to (once you find it) and close to everything in Amalfi (but it is a small town). The service was very friendly and helpful. Our room was good sized but VERY odd as we had to go up a very narrow stair case to get to the room. The rest of the rooms were on the main floor. The fridge did not work well, but the AC did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for three nights at the end of September. For roughly 90/Euro a night and the central Duomo Piazza location, you can't do much better value-wise. We enjoyed our stay immensley and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to make their Amalfi vacation less stressful on their wallet. It is a one minute walk to the buses and ferries for day trips to Ravello/Positano/Sorrento/Capri/Etc.

Two women work during the day and a man works at night. All three were incredibly helpful. He helped find me an extra pillow our first night and even though breakfast doesn't start until 8am, arranged to personally bring us our breakfast at 5:30am so we could get an early start off to Pompeii. The woman who checked me out was so wonderful and genuine and gave me a big hug after we'd settled with her our last morning.

Pros: location, view, breakfast included (coffee, juice, cornetto, toast, jam/butter), free wi-fi, clean rooms/bathroom, helpful staff, close proximity to great restaurants (we especially enjoyed Il Tari up the street on the left), A/C

Cons: hard beds, the square/bells can be noisy if you're looking to get to sleep early

tip: take the direct SITA bus from Naples Port for under 5 Euro instead of hiring a private driver for $$$ (2-2.5hr trip)

Room Tip: Room 1 is a reasonably spacious corner room w/ great views of the Duomo and the walkway leading to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute and were really pleased to get a room overlooking the main square and the Duomo. Reasonable sized room, clean and adequate for a short stay. Good sized bathroom again clean and nice touch with complimentary slippers. Excellent double glazing so no noise from outside (handy during delivery times!). The lovely Maria checked us in and suggested the nearby restaurant for dinner (which we took her up on and it was great). Only downside I would say is the breakfast which was basic to say the least (one croissant plus tea or coffee, no orange juice or water) which was served in a tiny very hot breakfast room. We got the last table so be quick in the morning!. Would recommend for a short stay.

Room Tip: Good double glazing so if you can try and get a room facing the Duomo as the view is second to none...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Sant'Andrea

Address: Costanza d'Avalos, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Sant'Andrea 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Sant'Andrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.