We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The heart of Amalfi...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Sant'Andrea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Albergo Sant'Andrea to your Saves list
Albergo Sant'Andrea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costanza d'Avalos, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The heart of Amalfi...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you want a stunning view of Amalfi's wonderful Byzantine duomo, you can't do better than stay at the Albergo Sant'Andrea. Located in the very heart of Amalfi, you can watch the town tick from your hotel window, and hear its heart beat as the cathedral bells toll.

This is not a sleek first-class city hotel; it is small-town hospitality at its best. Rooms are adequate, comfortable, much like staying at a friend's place rather than at a commercial establishment. Maria Buonocore makes her guests feel truly welcome. Winter is low season and we were among the few guests at the Albergo but hospitality is second nature to the Buonocore family and the season is unlikely to change that. Not only did we get help with our luggage up the steps when we arrived, there was no mention of check-in/check-out times. A cup of coffee on arrival, time to unwind, and the register could be signed once we were ready...

Breakfast is continental, but second cups of coffee were always offered, as was juice/water, suggestions for restaurants, day trips, bus times, etc. We stayed a total of six nights in this vertical seaside town and from our window saw a wedding, a funeral, and a 40th wedding anniversary celebration take place at the duomo (which, as with most of Europe's best sights, is under renovation at the moment). The location is brilliant. Right across the street (mind the traffic!) from the bus station, from which buses negotiate the vertiginous routes to Positano, Ravello, Sorrento, Salerno, etc leave regularly. The square below is the meeting point for townsfolk, young and old, from morning to night. It is also the starting point for a procession of interesting little shops: handmade paper, gelato and cakes, ceramics, fruit and vegetables, clothing, handcrafts, even tiny "supermarkets" tucked into impossibly small spaces. And, of course, cafes and restaurants.

By the time we left, the Buonocores were fast friends: Guiseppe took our bags down to the bus stop, Maria and Zia were on hand to hug us goodbye. We weren't checking out of an hotel, we were saying "Arriverderci" to dear family friends we knew we would miss.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the duomo, as long as you like the sound of church bells and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    23
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
31
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location is easy to get to (once you find it) and close to everything in Amalfi (but it is a small town). The service was very friendly and helpful. Our room was good sized but VERY odd as we had to go up a very narrow stair case to get to the room. The rest of the rooms were on the main floor. The fridge did not work well, but the AC did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for three nights at the end of September. For roughly 90/Euro a night and the central Duomo Piazza location, you can't do much better value-wise. We enjoyed our stay immensley and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to make their Amalfi vacation less stressful on their wallet. It is a one minute walk to the buses and ferries for day trips to Ravello/Positano/Sorrento/Capri/Etc.

Two women work during the day and a man works at night. All three were incredibly helpful. He helped find me an extra pillow our first night and even though breakfast doesn't start until 8am, arranged to personally bring us our breakfast at 5:30am so we could get an early start off to Pompeii. The woman who checked me out was so wonderful and genuine and gave me a big hug after we'd settled with her our last morning.

Pros: location, view, breakfast included (coffee, juice, cornetto, toast, jam/butter), free wi-fi, clean rooms/bathroom, helpful staff, close proximity to great restaurants (we especially enjoyed Il Tari up the street on the left), A/C

Cons: hard beds, the square/bells can be noisy if you're looking to get to sleep early

tip: take the direct SITA bus from Naples Port for under 5 Euro instead of hiring a private driver for $$$ (2-2.5hr trip)

Room Tip: Room 1 is a reasonably spacious corner room w/ great views of the Duomo and the walkway leading to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute and were really pleased to get a room overlooking the main square and the Duomo. Reasonable sized room, clean and adequate for a short stay. Good sized bathroom again clean and nice touch with complimentary slippers. Excellent double glazing so no noise from outside (handy during delivery times!). The lovely Maria checked us in and suggested the nearby restaurant for dinner (which we took her up on and it was great). Only downside I would say is the breakfast which was basic to say the least (one croissant plus tea or coffee, no orange juice or water) which was served in a tiny very hot breakfast room. We got the last table so be quick in the morning!. Would recommend for a short stay.

Room Tip: Good double glazing so if you can try and get a room facing the Duomo as the view is second to none...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenbrook
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Apparently The Amalfi Coast is a MUST when visiting southern Italy, so we did.
After much discussion, we decided upon staying in Amalfi. After all, it is the AMALFI coast!
Where in Amalfi became a dilemma. Choosing between price and location. In the end, the choice was easy.
Albergo Sant'Andrea was the perfect choice. I read the reviews. Apparently the host's English isn't the best. It is Italy, so I expected Italian to be their mother tongue. I was right.
Apparently the breakfast is basic. It was fine (toast biscuits, tea or coffee, sweet croissants, yoghurt, etc). It's not the Hilton, but who cares?
The day-time hostess was absolutely lovely. She was interested, caring and (dare I say it) accommodating.
The night-time host was very helpful, assisting me with my poor wi-fi skills.
The room was perfectly located, across the piazza from the Duomo, with views straight up the steps.
Amalfi is central so we visited neighboring towns, and even Capri, all with no issue. The restaurants were plentiful, and we accessed many of them.
I would recommend this Hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in the heart of Amalfi. Staff were very friendly and accommodating but their English wasn't the best. Room was nice and clean but basic. They said that breakfast was included but this was actually one crossaint and a cup of tea. If you're going to advertise breakfast it needs to be done properly!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 for one night as part of a walking holiday along the Amalfi coast. On arrival the owner helped us with the cases and was very welcoming even offering us a cold drink and looking suprised with we asked for a beer (as it was only 11 am!) but we were very hot. The room was not massive but very clean and overlooked the square and the catherdral. Perfect central location. Breakfast was basic. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Sant'Andrea

Address: Costanza d'Avalos, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Sant'Andrea 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Sant'Andrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.