We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm People, Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Sant'Andrea

Save Saved
You added Albergo Sant'Andrea to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Sant'Andrea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costanza d'Avalos, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Warm People, Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for three nights at the end of September. For roughly 90/Euro a night and the central Duomo Piazza location, you can't do much better value-wise. We enjoyed our stay immensley and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to make their Amalfi vacation less stressful on their wallet. It is a one minute walk to the buses and ferries for day trips to Ravello/Positano/Sorrento/Capri/Etc.

Two women work during the day and a man works at night. All three were incredibly helpful. He helped find me an extra pillow our first night and even though breakfast doesn't start until 8am, arranged to personally bring us our breakfast at 5:30am so we could get an early start off to Pompeii. The woman who checked me out was so wonderful and genuine and gave me a big hug after we'd settled with her our last morning.

Pros: location, view, breakfast included (coffee, juice, cornetto, toast, jam/butter), free wi-fi, clean rooms/bathroom, helpful staff, close proximity to great restaurants (we especially enjoyed Il Tari up the street on the left), A/C

Cons: hard beds, the square/bells can be noisy if you're looking to get to sleep early

tip: take the direct SITA bus from Naples Port for under 5 Euro instead of hiring a private driver for $$$ (2-2.5hr trip)

Room Tip: Room 1 is a reasonably spacious corner room w/ great views of the Duomo and the walkway leading to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
28
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute and were really pleased to get a room overlooking the main square and the Duomo. Reasonable sized room, clean and adequate for a short stay. Good sized bathroom again clean and nice touch with complimentary slippers. Excellent double glazing so no noise from outside (handy during delivery times!). The lovely Maria checked us in and suggested the nearby restaurant for dinner (which we took her up on and it was great). Only downside I would say is the breakfast which was basic to say the least (one croissant plus tea or coffee, no orange juice or water) which was served in a tiny very hot breakfast room. We got the last table so be quick in the morning!. Would recommend for a short stay.

Room Tip: Good double glazing so if you can try and get a room facing the Duomo as the view is second to none...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenbrook
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Apparently The Amalfi Coast is a MUST when visiting southern Italy, so we did.
After much discussion, we decided upon staying in Amalfi. After all, it is the AMALFI coast!
Where in Amalfi became a dilemma. Choosing between price and location. In the end, the choice was easy.
Albergo Sant'Andrea was the perfect choice. I read the reviews. Apparently the host's English isn't the best. It is Italy, so I expected Italian to be their mother tongue. I was right.
Apparently the breakfast is basic. It was fine (toast biscuits, tea or coffee, sweet croissants, yoghurt, etc). It's not the Hilton, but who cares?
The day-time hostess was absolutely lovely. She was interested, caring and (dare I say it) accommodating.
The night-time host was very helpful, assisting me with my poor wi-fi skills.
The room was perfectly located, across the piazza from the Duomo, with views straight up the steps.
Amalfi is central so we visited neighboring towns, and even Capri, all with no issue. The restaurants were plentiful, and we accessed many of them.
I would recommend this Hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in the heart of Amalfi. Staff were very friendly and accommodating but their English wasn't the best. Room was nice and clean but basic. They said that breakfast was included but this was actually one crossaint and a cup of tea. If you're going to advertise breakfast it needs to be done properly!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 for one night as part of a walking holiday along the Amalfi coast. On arrival the owner helped us with the cases and was very welcoming even offering us a cold drink and looking suprised with we asked for a beer (as it was only 11 am!) but we were very hot. The room was not massive but very clean and overlooked the square and the catherdral. Perfect central location. Breakfast was basic. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Amalfi is located at the heart of Amalfitana road. A main bus station and ferry are located at its center, next to the cost. The hotel’s location is at the piazza del Duomo, very next to stations. I visited Amalfi at the end of October, off season. It rained a lot. Unfortunately, ferries were not working. We took the Bus to visit all adjacent villages (road is very curvy and makes you sick) and could not visit Capri Island due to weather. Hotel Staff was very nice and polite but poor in English. The breakfast is included but dull (especially at the third day, same all again…). The room was clean and adequate. Be aware that to reach the entrance of the hotel you took a dozen of steps. Additionally I recommend eating a lemon cake at the patisserie across the piazza, on the right of the St. Andrea, delicious!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushden
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

brilliant view of the square and cathedral in amalfi and no distance to walk either. despite this only faint background noise. friendly staff who don't speak the greatest english but i suppose we should speak italian really! room small but didn't feel cramped and nice cheerful blue tiled floor. breakfast basic, just one roll and croissant each with jam sachet (no meat or cheese) but they make good coffee. if you are thinking of bringing a hire car here forget it - the only way to park is to summon their contact with a garage who will drive your car away for you and park it somewhere for 20 euros a night! it would be a pain to use it anyway because you would have to call him up again each time. so we stayed on the beach and got the bus to ravello the three nights we were there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergo Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Sant'Andrea

Address: Costanza d'Avalos, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Sant'Andrea 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Albergo Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Sant'Andrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;