We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Sant'Andrea

Save Saved
You added Albergo Sant'Andrea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Albergo Sant'Andrea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costanza d'Avalos, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean and central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Amalfi is located at the heart of Amalfitana road. A main bus station and ferry are located at its center, next to the cost. The hotel’s location is at the piazza del Duomo, very next to stations. I visited Amalfi at the end of October, off season. It rained a lot. Unfortunately, ferries were not working. We took the Bus to visit all adjacent villages (road is very curvy and makes you sick) and could not visit Capri Island due to weather. Hotel Staff was very nice and polite but poor in English. The breakfast is included but dull (especially at the third day, same all again…). The room was clean and adequate. Be aware that to reach the entrance of the hotel you took a dozen of steps. Additionally I recommend eating a lemon cake at the patisserie across the piazza, on the right of the St. Andrea, delicious!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
23
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rushden
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

brilliant view of the square and cathedral in amalfi and no distance to walk either. despite this only faint background noise. friendly staff who don't speak the greatest english but i suppose we should speak italian really! room small but didn't feel cramped and nice cheerful blue tiled floor. breakfast basic, just one roll and croissant each with jam sachet (no meat or cheese) but they make good coffee. if you are thinking of bringing a hire car here forget it - the only way to park is to summon their contact with a garage who will drive your car away for you and park it somewhere for 20 euros a night! it would be a pain to use it anyway because you would have to call him up again each time. so we stayed on the beach and got the bus to ravello the three nights we were there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Do not go there! I had the room under the steps of the village stairs, and when I asked to change they refused, on top
Of that the lady there wouldn't let me go until she makes sure I delete the Internet password, knowing I never asked for any refund, I just wanted to get out !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalfi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This has been the time of mi life. I was just planning to stay for 3-4 days. I fell in love with the town and det wonderful people here.
Its not much luxury, but the family who runs both the "albergo" and restaurant is adorable!! You feel almost at home... The room was alwas clean and in order. The food at the restarant and service was fantastic! Then of course, if you want to try other restaurant you can... The town offers almost anything you should need.

For me, it was outstanding! I loved to be close to the beach and the sea. You can also go to other ilands or towns on the Amafi Coast!

I really recommend you to comme... Here you don't have to worry about anything, you can really relax and admire the southern Italian culture!

There is no douth that I'm comming here next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed a week at Albergo Sant'Andrea in the month of June 2012. It was the perfect place, and just across from the Duomo on the piazza. This place is also in very close proximity to the local buses and tour buses. The staff were excellent. Maria is a gem and could not have been more helpful. I had hurt my knee during my stay and we could not have asked for more from the staff. They gave us ice and were always very attentive to our needs. The bed was a little hard, but again Maria and her staff corrected the problem. Nothing seemed to be too difficult for them. We would certainly return. There is also a restaurant across the street which is run by another family member (her sister) and we did frequent this restaurant as the food was exceptionally good as well as the service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This small, unassuming hotel offers a magnificent, first row view of the beautiful Amalfi cathedral, which sits right across the plaza, just a few steps away. The hotel is family-run, friendly, kind and beautiful smiles welcome you into this 'home' that offers a small number of clean and comfortable rooms for a very affordable price. Breakfast is included and served in the small kitchen that was clearly part of the residence before they decided to accept guests. Because of its prime location on the main plaza, Albergo Sant'Andrea is surrounded by shops, exquisite restaurants (Restaurant Maria), banks, ATM's, etc., within a few short steps. Our window opened up to the beauty and festive environment of the plaza, overlooking the people who thronged to the cathedral, various cafe's and limoncello stands. To this day my mind still goes back to that point in time...I simply loved it! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room facing the plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosman
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I read about the Albergo in a NY Times article and it more than lives up to that recommendation. Some have found it noisy as it is opposite the Duomo on the piazza but new double glazed windows seem to have fixed that. My single room is fine and clean and well appointed. The staff are friendly and helpful. Wifi too. All good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergo Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Sant'Andrea

Address: Costanza d'Avalos, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Sant'Andrea 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Sant'Andrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.