We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Sant'Andrea

Save Saved
You added Albergo Sant'Andrea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Sant'Andrea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costanza d'Avalos, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A jewel in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This small, unassuming hotel offers a magnificent, first row view of the beautiful Amalfi cathedral, which sits right across the plaza, just a few steps away. The hotel is family-run, friendly, kind and beautiful smiles welcome you into this 'home' that offers a small number of clean and comfortable rooms for a very affordable price. Breakfast is included and served in the small kitchen that was clearly part of the residence before they decided to accept guests. Because of its prime location on the main plaza, Albergo Sant'Andrea is surrounded by shops, exquisite restaurants (Restaurant Maria), banks, ATM's, etc., within a few short steps. Our window opened up to the beauty and festive environment of the plaza, overlooking the people who thronged to the cathedral, various cafe's and limoncello stands. To this day my mind still goes back to that point in time...I simply loved it! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room facing the plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    22
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
30
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mosman
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I read about the Albergo in a NY Times article and it more than lives up to that recommendation. Some have found it noisy as it is opposite the Duomo on the piazza but new double glazed windows seem to have fixed that. My single room is fine and clean and well appointed. The staff are friendly and helpful. Wifi too. All good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

It is a very simple, clean place. Our room was very basic but still quite nice and charming. Very good value and great central location. Make sure to bring some ear plugs though. Our room was right in front of the Dome and we could hear each single noise coming from the square.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Located directly in the Amalfi square just 2 minutes from the beach, this hotel was a very nice place to stay. It was small and well kept, although the rooms were not so large and a little older looking. Nonetheless Maria maintains the hotel very well. Being so close to the Duomo, the bells are quite loud, but we are heavy sleepers and weren't bothered in the morning. Breakfast and A/C were included.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We went to Amalfi for a friend's wedding and wanted somewhere central and good value for money and San't Andrea definitely met our needs. Really sweet room and air conditioned but most of all the view of the square and church was amazing - you couldn't get any more central. It isn't the quietest of locations but we loved hearing the sounds of Amalfi outside our window and we became accustomed to the church bells. Basic breakfast, but coffee great and the staff were so lovely - would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

The main plus point about this hotel is it's location right above the main square. Our room looked onto the Duomo and it was lovely people watching from our room. The negatives include the room size, which is small, the bathroom which is dated and stained (our toilet seat was broken and the shower curtain needed a good scrub and repair) and the noise. We were woken at 3am on our first night by people playing football in the main square. We also didn't like that we had to leave our key hanging up in reception each time we left the hotel (there is no safety deposit box in the room). We opted not to have breakfast and paid only 75 euros a night - very cheap for Amalfi!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Fell in love all over again in the Albergo. This intimate hotel is full of individuality - prettily-painted wood, colourful tiles, Moorish entrance, great fishbowl and very amiable owners (PREGO!). Our double room felt seperate with its own entrance and cosy attic feel. Its' green-shuttered windows opened onto a side-street and the sounds which floated up and down echo fondly in memory. Character aside, the location is perfect and the albergo scores top marks for quality. (I cannot ESPRESS how much I loved my morning Espresso!)
Adored Amalfi. Prego U.F!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Sant'Andrea

Address: Costanza d'Avalos, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Sant'Andrea 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Albergo Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Sant'Andrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.