We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Incredible Jewel of Culinary Excellence in Amalfi, Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Da Ciccio Cielo Mare e Terra

Trattoria Da Ciccio Cielo Mare e Terra
Via Giovanni Agustariccio 21 | Via Nazionale per Sorrento, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 831265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 95 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $32 - $76
Cuisines: Italian, Winery, Mediterranean, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An Incredible Jewel of Culinary Excellence in Amalfi, Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

One of our best friends in Rome recommended our having dinner at the Trattoria Da Ciccio Cielo Mare e Terra in Amalfi, Italy, during our visit there. We weren't disappointed. We stayed in the Amalfi area for a total of eight days, and my wife and I concluded that it was the best restaurant we had dined in in the area during all that time, bar none. The restaurant, owned by the same family since the end of World War I, is now run by a father (Ciccio) and his three sons, Antonio, Giuseppi and Marco. Marco is the chef, and a great chef he is. Over the years, my wife and I have dined at quite a few two and three Michelin starred restaurants, and this restaurant, not yet having been given even one star, outshines many of those starred restaurants in both food and service. Incredibly, it was very reasonably priced too! Antonio is simply charming, and is in charge of the dining room, while Giuseppi is the resident wine expert. We liked the restaurant so much that we went back a second time. On that occasion, upon tasting one of Marco's fine dishes, I remarked how much it reminded me of a delicacy I used to enjoy when we were living in Japan. Only, it was better! Antonio then amazed me by describing the ingredients that went into the Japanese dish and how it differed from what I was eating that night. Ciccio, Antonio, Marco and Giuseppi have, indeed, created an incredible jewel of a restaurant there, overlooking the town of Amalfi. It's a shame that Trip Advisor only allows up to five stars, as I'd give it ten if I could. It's not to be missed!

MacroMicro

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    78
    24
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Pampered with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

As others have reported, the staff at Trattoria Da Ciccio Cielo Mara a Terra in Amalfi go above and beyond to make the dining experience a memory to treasure. We contacted them by email, got a response right away, and were met near the bus stop in Amalfi Center by car and whsked 3 km west on the road to Positano by our waiter. On the way, the restaurant specials were described. The food was excellent; we especially loved the pumpkin soup- subtle blend of flavors with a crouton stuffed with prawns, fresh herbs, mild pumpkin. The fresh radicchio and other ingredients of our salad were grown at the farm in nearby Ravello. Our catch of the day bronzing was perfect with a light lemon sauce and the Meloncello was wonderful after dinner.

The service was attentive and expert, particularly with wine pairing by the sommelier. All in all a wonderful evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very good food an passionate sommelier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had an excellent dinner at Da Ciccio. The location is great, and tables located close to the terrace offer an amazing view. The staff is very friendly, the degustation menu is well worth the price. And the sommelier is very passionate about his job and about taking care that the wine meets the expectations of the client. He can provide good ideas if you want to buy wines from the surroundings (and also of course from all over Italy).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extraordinary!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were on a 3 week honeymoon in Italy and during that time we ate at many restaurants throughout the country. By far this was the best fine dining experience we had while in Italy. The waiters were passionate and knowledgable about the menu, the wine, and serving you while dining. The food and wine was exceptional, we ate at Ciccio Cielo twice and ordered all four courses both times we dined and loved every course. We also recommended this restaurant to our British neighbors who, I think, loved it more than we did. If you are anywhere near this restaurant you wont regret stopping in!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb lunch and outstanding view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

On a day tour of the Amalfi Coast our guide recommended Trattoria Da Ciccio. He called it a "roadside stand". Needless to say it was a little more than that. You could easily drive right by the pace without noticing it as the restaurant sits mostly below the road. The dinning room looks out over the cliff face just above the villa previously owned by Sofia Loren. The new owner even arrived by helicopter while we were eating. We had pasta and fish. The pasta was outstanding and the fish, a local sea bass, was fresh and superb. The wait staff was attentive, but not overly so. They even gave us a bottle of Creme Melon. One of our best lunches ever.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Da Ciccio Cielo Mare e Terra also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Trattoria Da Ciccio Cielo Mare e Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Da Ciccio Cielo Mare e Terra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.