We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Directly on the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Smeraldino

Lo Smeraldino
Piazzale dei Protontini, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 871070
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 94 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $26 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Directly on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a very nice seafood meal at this establishment. We had stopped for a quick glass of wine while walking around in the afternoon; the people were so nice we decided to make a reservation for dinner. The water side table we selected was ready as soon as we arrived. The seafood was excellent. Try the local Amalfi wine; the white goes great with seafood. It is inexpensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    149
    45
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very reasonable restaurant with a nice view of the harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Decent place to have lunch or dinner, with a nice view overlooking the larger yachts in the harbour; you can but dream! Its a bit out from the centre of Amalfi, being right at the end of the harbour promenade, but at least it is on the flat, which is unusual for the area, and is consequently not overly busy with hoardes of customers. Standard menu for the Sorrentine peninsula with a few twists. Their marinated fish starter was a nice departure from the norm, with the ceviche style swordfish being the star performer. The rest of the food was well-cooked and served with good, reasonably priced, house wines served in the bottle for a change. Service very reasonable and friendly. I'd go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food, mixed service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We ate in this restaurant twice during our recent visit to Amalfi. The food is excellent, the pizzas are tasty and authentic but the service is very mixed. Situated at the end of the marina away from the main tourist area but offering a fabulous view over the bay. Lots of italians frequent this restaurant which is always a good sign. First visit consisted of excellent pizzas (wood fired oven I think) and lemon cake to die for. No wine list was offered neither was bread. Coffee good but then we waited over an hour for the bill - we seemed to have become invisible to the staff. Eventually had to go up to the cash desk to pay. My husband wanted to go back to try the fish despite the poor service and I was glad that we did. Perhaps the weekday staff are not the same as the weekend staff as it was a different restaurant. I had pasta this time which was beautifully cooked and my husband enjoyed the fish although said there wasnt a lot of it. Good lemon cakes (different ones this time) and complimentary limoncello's with the bill which redeemed them. Worth trying but probably best to avoid the weekend staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Lovely restaurant on the marina.Food was very nice & the staff were very friendly.Excellent location too.No complaints at all.Would definitely go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our second visit here and once again we had a lovely lunch in a beautiful setting overlooking the bay, beach and yachts. The food was very tasty and the service was excellent. We will definitely be back hopefully next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Smeraldino also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Lo Smeraldino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lo Smeraldino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.