We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must in Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eolo

Eolo
Via Pantaleone Comite, 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089-871241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 95 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A must in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

From start to finish this is a luxurious experience that doesn't feel pretentious. The views are amazing (even if you don't manage to get a coveted spot right at the window) and the atmosphere cosy yet special. The waiting staff are very polite and efficient and not over bearing. The menu is fabulous and the wine list the most extensive we saw in Amalfi. Make sure you get your red wine decanted (not only for a better taste but also because the decanters are fabulous!).

We ordered our water and wine and then received an amuse bouche of a chick pea puree with chilli, which although looked better than it tasted was still very good. Worth commenting on is the amazing selection of bread, the best I've ever experienced. Two types of bread stick (black cuttlefish ink and garlic and basil) and endless bread rolls, with tomato, anchovies, olive oil, and regular rolls and bread too, served warm and absolutely delicious. The butter is the best I've ever had, salted, from Normandy, and almost more like cream than butter, stunning!!! (And such a strange thing to comment on but worth the praise!)

The highlight of my dinner was the starter of crayfish (more like lobster) with a gin and tonic sorbet which balanced out the sweetness of the fish perfectly, and my husband enjoyed the perfectly cooked stuffed squid. Quickly cooked tubes of squid with slow cooked tentacles, perfect. My main course of fried fish was good, crisp and well cooked, with the prawns being the best part, followed by stuffed courgette flowers, calamari and white fish. The star main course was my husband's stuffed gnocci tubes, which were presented beautifully and were absolutely delicious.

A first for me was the complimentary desert amouse bouche which was a mouthful of perfect chocolate soufflé with raspberry coulis. After having this I regretted ordering desert, but when my 'end of the world' chocolate creation arrived I managed to find the room to finish it!! It was a chocolate sphere filled with fruit and sponge and as the waiter poured over the warm chocolate sauce (the best bit) the world 'melted'. The best bit about desert was that desert wine to compliment your choice is included, a lovely touch. I was given a ceramic souvenier to mark our visit, another nice touch.

All in all, this was easily the best food we had in Amalfi and I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to people who like their food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    43
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We came back to Eolo restaurant for the second (and last time). The last time we have been there we enjoyed a faboulos mixed fry and that was the reason why we would be back for a second time again. Unfortunately the "golden age" is over and it was terrible (no crunchy and dry, but flubby). Friendly waiters, nice starters and bread but it is not worth going back again. Failed! Moreover, even if asked in advaced, it felt like babies were not that welcomed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Five star experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a small room with outstanding views, service, and food. There is an extensive wine list from the region, but you will probably need assistance as the vineyards are unfamiliar, at least in the US. A big key: there is an outside room that is said to be THE place to sit, but we sat at the open window with a view of the town and the hills, and it added to the special experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Awesome Ristorante”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

When we arrived on our first day in Amalfi we had just traveled for almost 24 hours and it was raining, this all made for an excellent choice of taking a nap all afternoon. The Marina Riviera was the hotel we stayed in and they own this ristorante. As the weather was quite dreary the hotel staff offered to make us a reservation here (ristorante is next door to the hotel).

The service was impeccable, sometimes it was a bit much when they would fill your water or wine glass after every sip you take but we felt very attended to. They gave us the front table at the window which had breathtaking views coupled with lighting in the distance which made for some pretty awesome views.

The food was delicious, I wish I had come with more of an appetite as we only had appetizers and primi dishes. The really awesome piece was the dessert, they brought out a chocolate ball with our area of the world drawn out in 14K foil and then they drizzled it with piping hot sauce which melted the ball and gave way to the delicious creamy middle. They hilariously called the sauce "Berlusconi" which made us laugh.

At the end of the meal they present the man with the check and the woman with a pretty ceramic blowfish, "for your mother".

I wish we had not eaten here on our first night in town as we didn't take full advantage of the menu but I am glad we were able to try out this gem.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It's certainly elegant and in a wonderful location overlooking Amalfi bay. The atmosphere is remarkable and the service is unmatched, each menu item was explained in little detail. From appetizer to desert, each plate was a piece of art and delicious. As you enter this place you see a nice collection of wine can be paired with food at your request. We even got a small, but amazing complimentary appetizer and dessert. There were six of us and one of the couples celebrated their anniversary, so bill was split among other two couples and came up to about euro 150 (euro 300 total for 6 people). If you are in Amalfi you should visit this place at least once.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eolo also viewed

 

Been to Eolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.