We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in service and food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eolo

Eolo
Via Pantaleone Comite, 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089-871241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
“Excellence in service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Lets start with the hostess, she made a reservation for us and opened a half hour early to fit us in and she was so sweet through the entire meal. When we got there the view was breathtaking and light music played in the background. The service was prompt and attentive and the hostess made an excellent wine suggestion. Bread arrived piping hot from the oven, the basil tomato rolls were particularly tasty. Dinner started with a complimentary amuse bouche baked ravioli filled with seafood in a delicious pesto sauce. The ricotta flan was light and rich at the same time and pasta was cooked to perfection. The seafood tasted so fresh you could still taste the sweetness of the ocean. Definitely save room for dessert, it was amazing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    59
    19
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wdonerful Welcome and Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Two minutes away from our chosen hotel, Marina Riviera, we decided to stay local on our firstnight and eat in Eola. Having already fallen in love with Amalfi, we then fell in love with this restaurant. The service was out of this world and the filet steak one of the best I had ever eaten. My wife had the pasta and also ahred the same sentiment. The wine list is truly fantastic and not knowing Italian wine well, we were informed about which choices woudl best fit our meals. Again, the wine was excellent. Althoug being slightly out of the town centre, there was a vibrant atmosphere and I finished the night off with a delightful grappa digestive to complete a wonderful dining experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food and service but not good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Our first evening in Amalfi saw us witness a terrific thunderstorm so fortunately we had booked a table at Eolo's next door to our hotel. Service was excellent if a little too attentive constantly refilling water and wine glasses. Starters were tasty especially husbands large macaroni tubes filled with delicious creamy cheese. My cannelloni with a cod based filling was fine but less tasty . I had the mixed seafood tempura - prawn, fish, calamari etc served with a lemon sauce and a balsamic reduction- this was fine but nothing extraordinary. Hubby had grouper which was beautifully presented . Hubby enjoyed his caramel and hazelnut dessert but not as much as I enjoyed my end of the world chocolate surprise! Wine is definitely overpriced so we settled for a half bottle! It's always nice to try the no 1 on Trip Advisor and although food and service was fine ,at 150 euros for 2 we don't think it was good value for money . Atmosphere a bit starchy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food with amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent food and service! You can find healthy dishes as well if you want a break from pasta! Have a reservation before hand.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I wouldn't say number 1 but was a really good experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The restaurants view is nice, cute balcony and the staff are extremely nice. My husband had the salt encrusted fish of the day which was very good. I had the steak which came out rare and I had to send it back to be cooked to medium. They cooked a whole new one which was very nice of them but my husband was finished his meal before mine came back. Overall though the presentation was fun and the staff was great. It was nice to try but wouldn't need to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eolo also viewed

 

Been to Eolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.