We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal & Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Gemma

Da Gemma
Via Fra Gerardo Sasso, 9, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 871345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 93 restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $47 - $107
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sisters, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We showed up without a reservation and they managed to fit us in on the deck with our promise to be finished in an hour and a half. From the complimentary appetizer through the main course and dessert, the food was excellent, and the presentation was always a work of art. The staff was attentive and we didn't feel rushed at all. Wonderful meal and memorable experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    445
    156
    46
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pricy but top drawer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful menu excellent preparation and service. While a bit pricy its well worth treating yourself at least once.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great food, great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed this 140 year old trattoria in the Amalfi Coast. The outdoor terrace on the second floor overlooks Via Lorenzo busy backstreet.The atmosphere is upscale but relaxed enough. A must order is their regional specialty of grilled octopus. Reservations up to a day in advance are essential for a seat outside. We had our concierge at our hotel make the reservation in advance for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate at Da Gemma in Amalfi last evening, our first night in town. Upstairs above the central square, it was a few blocks from our hotel. We got a table at the outer edge of the deck area, overlooking the street below full of Sunday evening action. The service was impeccable; they took the initiative to split portions of orders we said we wanted to share without charging extra. The pacing of the meal was perfect, not rushed, not waiting too long. Our server spoke English well and was gracious and attentive, but not over attentive (don't you hate the American wait staff that comes back over and over and asks if everything is OK?). We had a lovely appetizer of a light provolone cheese with eggplant, peppers, and shavings of fennel, followed by a perfect linguine with very fresh shellfish. The cod with spinach and tomato that my wife chose was wonderful. Just slightly less special, the baked catch of the day- fish was perfectly prepared, the potatoes along side uninspired. We skipped dessert, but were brought a plate of 4 confections x2- bite sized and luscious. Would certainly go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Shame we couldn't stay longer.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We called into Amalfi during our shore tour of the region, having just left Ravello and we still had to visit Positano before going back onto the ship.

When we arrived in Amalfi, the skies opened up and it poured. It was around lunchtime and everyone dashed into nearby cafes, restaurants and bars.

We were hungry and spotted da Gemma up a flight of stairs. We were seated straight away and we explained our time constraint - only 1 hour! They served us in a very timely manner and we both enjoyed our meals very much. The menu was very extensive with very interesting dishes we would loved to have tried.

If we are ever on the Amalfi coast again, we would certainly drop in and dine here - and linger longer!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Gemma also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast

Been to Da Gemma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Gemma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.