We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go early.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Gemma

Da Gemma
Via Fra Gerardo Sasso, 9, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 871345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 94 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $46 - $105
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Go early.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This restaurant is right in the centre of town on a terrace, one floor above the main street, in short a lovely location.

When we arrived two of the waiters were having a row, (which was awkward) and we were seated by the edge of the terrace overlooking the road below. Just great.

Food was all very nice, wine lovely and service pretty good until they got very busy. At which point it became difficult to get any attention or pay the bill. This may be my impatience, no one else looked at all bothered, and they were busy on both occasions. I asked for pepper, this didn't go down well for some reason and I then got an attitude when the main course arrived.

Well worth a visit and go at 7pm if you want to get out by 9.30.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    171
    50
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This restaurant is definitely one to visit when staying in Amalfi. Apart from the food we ordered, the chef surprised us with a welcoming appetizer and dessert which were both delicious. Staff were extremely friendly and also gave us a a sweet branded ceramic magnet as a souvenir ! Will definitely recommend this place! Make sure to make a reservation as this place is always fully booked!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for Lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful food and service. In the middle of the main street on a terrace above the crowds. Try and have three courses, it's worth it. Local specialities including the chocolate aubergine dessert. Yes, I was suspicious but my Italian friend persuaded me to try it, and it's was amazing. Be brave, and enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good food, service higher then normal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The toilet is a revelation compared to most Italian restaurants. Very clean and a toilet seat! Good food for what you pay. Staff is well organized, but service price is high. I guess this is the standard for getting the service that I find normal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful service, good food, right in the center of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

They will take care of you--from appetizer to dessert (great pasta dish!) Good selection of wines. A meal to be remembered. The restaurant overlooks the center of town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Gemma also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Da Gemma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Gemma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;