We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views/exciting en route” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Road

Coast Road
Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 189 things to do in Amalfi Coast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Also called the "Amalfi Drive," this coastal route south from Sorrento is one of the most beautiful in Europe.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views/exciting en route”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A friend had been telling us about this drive along the coast for years, so we had to see for ourselves when we finally got to visit Italy. Wow! The views as you drive down the coast are spectacular. The "roller coaster road," to quote our bus tour guide, was as exciting as the views were magnificent. Though you better get a seat on the sea-side if you really want to get the most out of the trip. The stop in the little town of Amalfi was very enjoyable. Wondering along the narrow streets, stopping in the various shops, having a lemon gelato, all on a lovely bright spring day. What could be better? We also took a boat tour from Amalfi along the beautiful coast for a different view of the amazing road and the various celebrity villas. Lots more great photo opportunities on-board as in an additional stop in the town of Ravello. This was right near the top of my list of things we did during our three-week Italian adventure.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    33
    11
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
616 reviews 616 reviews
339 attraction reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
“What Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you are on the Sorrentine Peninsula, then it is a must that you do the Amalfi Coast Road, the views are absolutely stunning, how they managed to build the roads, well I hope they all got medals. If, like my wife, you don't like heights, then make sure that you sit in the vehicle away from the sea side because some of the drops are just sheer. Everyone should do this tourist trip, go on, you know it makes sense.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Breath taking views!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Amalfi drive was so beautiful that I actually put down my camera to just stare in fascinated awe! The photos couldn't do it justice so I stopped photographing and just soaked it all in! The sea is beautiful and clear! The vegetation is gorgeous!! This is a view not to be missed! In the early part of the morning when its warm a light fog sets over the town but it clears out later in the day!! The roads are treacherous and winding to the inexperienced driver so I would take a tour. Due to the winding motion of the bus, I got very queasy, as did other members of our group. Make sure you take some Dramamine or use an anti nausea patch! This was my husband's favorite part of our anniversary jaunt through Europe!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A drive not to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wow, you can look at pictures of The Amalfi Coast all day, but nothing is the same until you see it for yourself!! Unbelievable scenery that is so amazing it even captured both my boys attention so much so that it may have rated over The Colosseum in Rome which was their number one thing to see on vacation!! Have a stop at one of the roadside fruit/vegetable/spice stands for some of the freshest best tasting cherries and spices ever. Definitely a must do!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, ON
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yes the scenery was stunning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

But the bus to Amalfi didn't make it.
Our driver abruptly stopped just outside of Positano saying "Change Bus", turned around and headed back telling us another would be along in 20 minutes. It was 85 minutes and there was nothing scenic about where we were standing. Nowhere to buy a drink or food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Road also viewed

 

Been to Coast Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.