We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in the midle of nothing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Excelsior to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Excelsior
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto, 66, 89121 Reggio Calabria, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Reggio Calabria
Shefayim
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice hotel in the midle of nothing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

grand hotel location in the midle of Reggio di Calabria. very close to the sea, very close to the promenad of the city. I ave started my tour in Calabria from Raggio, that's the only reason why I spend anjght in Grand Hotel. the Hotel is nice, room is very comfort include wide toilet (larg bad and wide toilet and free WiFi are most important for me). ther is no parking for bus close to the hotel but I don't know about parking for privet car. All hotels in south Italy has free WiFi at the public places also at geust rooms but the WiFi in Grand hotel is very week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    66
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
11
22
8
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Here for 2 nights. Second night no restaurant or bar open. Very apologetic at reception, they said that there were not enough people staying at the hotel.
Room carpet really stained. I stayed in 2 different rooms and the wifi was very intermittent in the first room.
No control over room temperature at all. There is a control but it doesnt work. Apparently they control temperature of each room from reception. First room was 25 degrees and was too hot. I complained and reception said they would adjust it to 22. It didn't change at all. Paid 100 euros a night. Just acceptable I suppose!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

OK -- this can't be the same hotel that other people are writing positive reviews for. The Grand Hotel Excelsior may very well have been one of the worst (or actually "the worst") hotel I have ever stayed in (think: the very worst hotel you can imagine in Seaside Heights, NJ). I feel bad because it's to no fault of the staff, who were very friendly and accommodating. The desk staff, bar tender (in the lobby), and the waiter all tried so very hard, but the hotel was old and dirty and just...gross!

The carpet in the room was perpetually damp and had large brown stains all over it. The bed was hard, pillows flat. The tub was clogged and had rust stains all over -- and was chipped beyond repair. The toilet -- um...let's just say we knew someone used it prior to our arrival. We did have a small balcony that overlooked the deserted building next to the hotel. It was fun to play "I Spy" with all of the piles of garbage on the roof.

OK, so I took a deep breath and decided to go downstairs and have a drink. The bartender poured a glass of red wine that he was SO very proud of and it tasted like vinegar and grape juice. I think the bottle was corked AND about 7 years old.

The positives: the view from the 5th floor restaurant was absolutely beautiful. You can see the Straight of Messina and Sicily in the very near distance. The sunset was extraordinary. That is all for positives.

I can't say if this hotel is average for the area. I think the reason our tour stayed here was because of it's close proximity to the ferry to Sicily. We were up early and on the boat heading far, far away from Reggio Calabria and the Grand Hotel Excelsior -- which is exactly where I wanted to be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIagara-on-the-Lake
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

A very clean and well appointed hotel. Dining room has a fantastic view of the Straits of Messina. Located close to important sites. Front Desk could use someone more fluent in English but they were very helpful.

We were there specifically to go the famous museum directly across the street but it has been closed for two years. Some of the best artifacts are in a government building about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Good breakfast and dinner and the maitre d' speaks English. It appears that they often host tour groups at breakfast and dinner which makes the room quite noisy.

Hotel is expensive but is the best in the city.

Room Tip: A superior room will have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The hotel is centrally located and only a few minute walk from the beach, the staff are quite friendly. The room is nice but dated, WiFi didn't work and over all for the price we paid I was disapointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Very nice lobby, friendly reception, clean and spacious bedrooms, and great views of Etna from dining room on 5th floor. Ignore the concrete exterior - you will not find an elegantly appointed palace in Reggio di Calabria. It's commonly acknowledged to be the best hotel in the city. It's a few steps from the' Cesare' gelataria, the town centre, the seafront, several good restaurants, and the Lido train station. Had a fantastic meal at the surprisingly named 'London Bistro' nearby, which luckily had no connection whatsoever to English food. You are very close to the main street, Corso Giuseppe Garibaldi, which features the passagiata every evening. You are also close enough to walk to the museum hosting the restoration of the Bronzii di Riace. Ma non ho visto la Fata Morgana!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We had a very comfortable stay here. It is located across the street from the main road that runs parallel to the Straight of Messina with an awesome view of Sicily. The staff was helpful and some English which helped me a great deal. I would recommend this as a place to stay in Calabria.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto, 66, 89121 Reggio Calabria, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Reggio Calabria > Reggio Calabria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reggio Calabria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Excelsior Reggio Calabria/Reggio Calabria, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.