We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Falco Grillaio

Al Falco Grillaio
Via Ridola, 17, 75100 Matera, Italy
+39 0835 331 128
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 174 restaurants in Matera
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Excellent location, in the heart of Sassi, in Ricola Street. The food was prepared with care and only with fresh and local ingredients. I asked to be sitted in a table with a beautiful view on the Sassi and I was delighted admiring the little colourful birds called" Falchi grillai" so rare in Europe.
I had an antipasto of grilled vegetables and a plate of cheese and salami. The fresh mozzarella was divine!
The main course was a mix grilled meat with a side salad. Just cooked to perfection and very tender. There was still space for dessert and I chose a ricotta and almond tart, just out of the oven.
I can certainly recommend this restaurant, for quality, service and location.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    22
    32
    20
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Eat among only italians, nice food and wine at a fair price, only setback are the waiters,did not once see a smile on their faces.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clinton corners NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We ate among locals, including some guys we saw having a meeting up at the Park Center. Friends returned with their family and liked it just as much as we had at lunch. I would certainly return

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Along the boardwalk .. so an obvious tourist trap.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Although located just out of the actual center of town, but still on one of the major gathering squares this restaurant lookes great and -in fact- tries to do good as well, but it just doesn't come together.

Their menu/prices are quite reasonable; but somewhere things go wrong in service, which spoils your appetit.

Set menus are simple and great, but let them be good.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potenza, Italy
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Authentic Matera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

When I think of eating in Matera I think of Al Falco. On one of our visits we stumbled into this place and we were pleasantly surprised considering the proximity to the museums and other tourist eateries.

We have been back and the second time was as good as the first. The food is simple and fresh. The atmosphere is charming and we have had excellent service. The prices are reasonable and you know this is real Lucanian cooking.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Falco Grillaio also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 

Been to Al Falco Grillaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Falco Grillaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.