We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel disappointing staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caveoso Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Caveoso Hotel to your Saves list
Caveoso Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rione Pianelle 26 (Piazza Caveoso), 75100 Matera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Matera
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel disappointing staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is certainly in the right place and has been sympathetically restored, the rooms are perhaps a little sparse but the prices charged are very reasonable. However if you want a proper breakfast before setting off for the day I suggest you stay somewhere else. We arrived for breakfast at 0800, all the breakfast plates were empty and the only staff member who was unbelievably miserable managed to say finished when we asked for food, and then when asked for more coffee had the cheek to say "exta" and then charged 3 Euros for another cup. There are many hotels in the area at the same price, I suggest you chose one of them.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    131
    26
    24
    10
See reviews for
46
124
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had an incredible view from our room and it was very ample. The hotel is located inside the Sassi itself, staff gave us the best advice on where to go, and where to eat. So, we were able to enjoy true Italy in a gorgeous city that carefully keeps its traditions. It was the best part of our Italy vacation.

Room Tip: There is the possibiliy t of staying in a sassi cave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Staying in a cave was so unique. The staff were wonderful. Be prepared to take luggage up rock steps, but that is part of the charm. the reason for the 4 instead of 5 were maintenance issues and I'm sure had we been there longer the management would have fixed the leaky shower and broken hair dryer as well as the lock on the fridge we couldn't open. We had a little trouble locating it with our GPS, so ask for a map of the turn into the piazza. They have free wifi and free parking, a plus in Italy. Matera is not to be missed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a very nice and reasonably priced place to stay if you would like to try the cave dwellings. Good breakfast. Quiet and very comfortable. Convenient to restaurants and local sites. Parking was convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a cave. Although non-cave rooms may have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tocane Saint-Apre, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The concierge came with another man to help us carry our luggage up the cobbles and stairs. Once there, our room in the cave was the first that faced us, to the right of the courtyard and entry to the cave hotel. It is vaulted, large enough, and very pleasant, with a white bed cover scattered with little blue flowers that seems to freshen the room.
The great joy for me, however, is a BATH in the pleasant little bathroom at the back of the cave – the only place where there is a bit of exposed rocky wall to be seen. Actually our bedroom is built in front of the cave, and has a window onto the courtyard.
We had 2 nights here. The first night our aircon wasn't set properly but we got this done next morning, and were fine the second night. Breakfasts were entirely adequate if not exceptional.
I wanted an adaptor to translate our French gear to Italian; our host set our satnav to get us to the right shop where we got one for 90 cents.
After a week in Puglia we had not yet paid to park but I got careless and picked up a fine shortly before we left. It had to be paid within 3 days at a special place. Our host kindly took on this chore and sent us the receipt very efficiently. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Although some rooms are built into the cave back, ours was not, but had good views. It was spacious and decorated white. It was in a good position for sightseeing. The breakfast was a buffet in a room where the rear tables were in a cave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

It's an exotic place and it certainly worth the visit. There is just one problem: first you got to be lucky to park near the hotel. Then you will have to carry on your luggage for about 100m and then up the stairs to your room. The rocky streets and paths can damage the wheels of your suitcase. Unfortunately there's no service for that, I'd be happy to see a cart to carry all the bags.
Once in the room you can enjoy this unique place. Breakfast is served in the rocky cave and it's got the espresso and a good variety of fruits and breads.
The staff was a lot friendly and casual, showed us points in the map and recomended a good restaurant.
Good sleep, good shower, although there wasn't a window in the room, it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the summertime because the rock will get hot all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caveoso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caveoso Hotel

Address: Rione Pianelle 26 (Piazza Caveoso), 75100 Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caveoso Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caveoso Hotel is situated in a striking palace right in the centre of the Sassi area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Caveoso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caveoso Hotel Matera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caveoso Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.