We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near Sassi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casino Ridola Hotel Relais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casino Ridola Hotel Relais to your Saves list
Casino Ridola Hotel Relais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marcello Morelli, 13, 75100 Matera, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Matera
Tricity
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel near Sassi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel has a very good location in a quiet neighbourhood but close to the historic centre, the breakfast was rich (for Italian standards), clean room with modern furniture, very helpful and kind staff.

Room Tip: There are two types of rooms: those on the first floor are accessed through the main entrance (via a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    51
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
73
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I spent two days in Matera with my wife for the New Year's Eve and we were delighted to find this beautiful hotel. The location is perfect, just five minutes walking distance from the town centre and Sassi, the building is very modern and stylish and our room very comfortable, clean and with a nice combination of modern and old-fashioned details. The staff are extremely kind and available and we did enjoy the breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Ridola is situated on an obscure street about a 10 minute walk from the center of town. Our GPS found it. It is an old restored building and you have to schlep your luggage up a long flight of stairs. The girls at the desk giggled when I mentioned it. I did not giggle. The room was relatively inexpensive at 96 Euros. I have rated the service below average because no guest should have to carry heavy luggage up those stairs.

The room was fine although a bit dark. Plumbing was modern. They needed to add a bright lamp instead of the small one on the desk. The wifi worked fine but when they add a good lamp they should find one with extra sockets for electronic devices. Parking was ample and secured at night. Breakfast was good. The room was quiet. Not a bad choice if you are able bodied.

We dined at the closest restaurant, the Borghese, and it was excellent. The waiter struggled a bit in English but was very obliging. The wine list was enormous and the patrons prosperous looking once they wandered in around 9:30 PM. Everything closes for most of the afternoon so they make up for it at night. Highly recommend.

It takes about a half day to do the sights and it takes some good walking. We stumbled on a gem, the Paticceria Schiuma, on a large street near the main square. It had pastries to die for at a fraction of big city prices. If you want to eat the real Italian pastries at their best, go there.

Room Tip: On the reception floor, Otherwise you can add another flight of stairs for the luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent two nights at Relais Ridola in the room pictured above. It was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The staff member who checked us in was very friendly and helpful providing us with a map of the city and several good restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was good with lots of variety. For warmer weather, there is a nice swimming pool.

One of the advantages of staying here is that secure parking is provided if you have a rental car. It's not a difficult walk to the city center--it takes about 15 minutes but the return trip is entirely uphill. Not a problem for us but perhaps it could be for some not in tip-top shape.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at this property in early May 2012. I truly can not find anything critical to write about it. It is a beautiful building, I had a very spacious and comfortable room with what I think were unique architecture and furnishings. The shower was powerful – something difficult to find in the US anymore. The breakfast had good variety. The staff was very nice (and helpful when I got lost driving there). I received a good value at this property. (And I think the structure itself has some “history” with it.)

A few notes of interest. I am a walker, and I found the location to be very good. It is about a 15 walk to the Sassi, including some hills. Just something to bear in mind if you have any physical limitations. Also, to the best of my knowledge, this property does not have an elevator. The first floor with rooms is actually the 2nd floor; up a steep, narrow staircase. I am a heavy packer and I did not enjoy the walk up the stairs with my luggage. There is plenty of on-site parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great hotel with friendly, helpful staff.... The pool area is lovely and provides a great place to chill out after a walk around the Sassi area....

Breakfast offered a great selection of fruit, breads etc ...

Short walk to Sassi so perfectly located. Would recommend to anyone visiting Matera

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I was given a room on the top floor without a lift. The hotel probably had around 10 rooms and has been converted from a large family house, and the owners occupy a corner of the ground floor. Very friendly staff. The rooms had recently been refurbished in a modern style, and they were exceptionally clean.
Excellent breakfast, but they do not serve dinner, but plenty of restaurants in the town.
The room was large and had underfloor heating but did not appear to have any air conditioning.
I was travelling by bike and the owners got me to store my bike alongside their own outside of their appartment.
It is about 1.5 km to the centre of the town, downhill on the way in.
There was a swimming pool in the grounds - but at the start of May it is still too cold for the Italians to swim.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casino Ridola Hotel Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Ridola Hotel Relais

Address: Marcello Morelli, 13, 75100 Matera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Ridola Hotel Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casino Ridola is located at 600m from the famous Sassi and the historical centre of Matera, offers a swimming pool and free parking. Guest rooms come with free Internet access, satellite TV, and a floor heating and cooling system. The breakfast room and reception are in the garden and offers every day a buffet selection of sweet and savory product prepared at home. The hotel was designed by a famous local architect, Leonardo Ridola in 1872. The National Museum of Matera is dedicated to him. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casino Ridola Hotel Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casino Ridola Hotel Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.