We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable Room and Free Secure Parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casino Ridola Hotel Relais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casino Ridola Hotel Relais to your Saves list
Casino Ridola Hotel Relais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marcello Morelli, 13, 75100 Matera, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Matera
Georgia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Room and Free Secure Parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent two nights at Relais Ridola in the room pictured above. It was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The staff member who checked us in was very friendly and helpful providing us with a map of the city and several good restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was good with lots of variety. For warmer weather, there is a nice swimming pool.

One of the advantages of staying here is that secure parking is provided if you have a rental car. It's not a difficult walk to the city center--it takes about 15 minutes but the return trip is entirely uphill. Not a problem for us but perhaps it could be for some not in tip-top shape.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    51
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
73
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at this property in early May 2012. I truly can not find anything critical to write about it. It is a beautiful building, I had a very spacious and comfortable room with what I think were unique architecture and furnishings. The shower was powerful – something difficult to find in the US anymore. The breakfast had good variety. The staff was very nice (and helpful when I got lost driving there). I received a good value at this property. (And I think the structure itself has some “history” with it.)

A few notes of interest. I am a walker, and I found the location to be very good. It is about a 15 walk to the Sassi, including some hills. Just something to bear in mind if you have any physical limitations. Also, to the best of my knowledge, this property does not have an elevator. The first floor with rooms is actually the 2nd floor; up a steep, narrow staircase. I am a heavy packer and I did not enjoy the walk up the stairs with my luggage. There is plenty of on-site parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great hotel with friendly, helpful staff.... The pool area is lovely and provides a great place to chill out after a walk around the Sassi area....

Breakfast offered a great selection of fruit, breads etc ...

Short walk to Sassi so perfectly located. Would recommend to anyone visiting Matera

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I was given a room on the top floor without a lift. The hotel probably had around 10 rooms and has been converted from a large family house, and the owners occupy a corner of the ground floor. Very friendly staff. The rooms had recently been refurbished in a modern style, and they were exceptionally clean.
Excellent breakfast, but they do not serve dinner, but plenty of restaurants in the town.
The room was large and had underfloor heating but did not appear to have any air conditioning.
I was travelling by bike and the owners got me to store my bike alongside their own outside of their appartment.
It is about 1.5 km to the centre of the town, downhill on the way in.
There was a swimming pool in the grounds - but at the start of May it is still too cold for the Italians to swim.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Everything about this hotel was spot on. The room, the breakfast, the location - given the difficulty in parking in downtown Matera - and in particular, the welcome and help provided by the lovely people working there. Add to this that it was great value, and we hope to back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

If you are looking for a quality place in Matera, this may be it. It's a bit outside of the centre but within very easy walking distance of the centre and the sassi (old Matera). The accommodation is very comfortable, the staff are excellent and the hotel very well managed. Consider the half board option as this is done in conjunction with a very good nearby restaurant serving local specialities. It makes the stay very affordable. Matera ,by the way, has been judged the safest city in Italy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Second stay here at Hotel Ridola relais.
With 3 young kids- this hotel is just perfect in about every way. The staff are so helpful, the rooms gorgeous and the pool an added luxury.It felt like our own and the staff could not have been more helpful. the children played in the lovely garden. Our rooms were next door to each other on the ground floor so we could access pool and garden easily.
You can walk easily into the centre of Matera.
We bought some wine and the manager opened it for us and not only that provided a cool bucket and wine glasses!
Stay here for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor great for families with small children. Top floor rooms are brill for romanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casino Ridola Hotel Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Ridola Hotel Relais

Address: Marcello Morelli, 13, 75100 Matera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Ridola Hotel Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casino Ridola is located at 600m from the famous Sassi and the historical centre of Matera, offers a swimming pool and free parking. Guest rooms come with free Internet access, satellite TV, and a floor heating and cooling system. The breakfast room and reception are in the garden and offers every day a buffet selection of sweet and savory product prepared at home. The hotel was designed by a famous local architect, Leonardo Ridola in 1872. The National Museum of Matera is dedicated to him. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casino Ridola Hotel Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casino Ridola Hotel Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.