We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in this luxurious sassi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sant'Angelo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sant'Angelo Hotel to your Saves list
Sant'Angelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rione Pianelle | Piazza San Pietro Caveoso, 75100 Matera, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Matera
Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stay in this luxurious sassi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Four of us gals each reserved our own room, since it was a good value in November. Each room was unique, as well as clean and very artistically decorated....cleverly carved out of the sassi. Breakfast was abundant and delicious.

Room Tip: Any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea Anna C, Direttore generale at Sant'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your experience with us with tripadvisor users.
We are glad that your stay in Matera was memorable and we hope to have you soon again as our guest.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    71
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
37
137
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Sant'Angelo. Our room was gorgeous & the view outside our door was absolutely amazing. If you are driving, I definitely recommend using a GPS, because it is a little tricky to find. However, our GPS tried to send us down a pedestrian-only alley while we were trying to find the hotel, but we finally got there with a little help from a nice local gentleman. The breakfast at the hotel was good with lots of variety. There were, however, three glitches that could have been improved upon. First, our room had a slight ant problem. It wasn't really bad, but it wasn't pleasant either. Second, the bed was hard. I mean like uncomfortably rock hard, so I didn't sleep well. The third issue was that the toilet is enclosed in turquoise-colored glass. This glass amplified & echoed what ever you were doing in there. So any type of noise made while going to the toilet was heard throughout the suite. That was a pretty awkward to say the least! Otherwise, the experience was enjoyable and the town was amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

air conditionner out of order..we could not use our room until 10 pm. Staff at reception could not communicate with us. we accidentally walked into the wrong hotel. They did not have our reservation....We thought booking.com had not booked our room that morning so we kept showing our confirmation number with the name of the hotel. They proceeded to book us into this hotel knowing that this was not their confirmation number. Thinking that the problem had been resolved we checked into Sant'Angelo Hotel in piazza San Pietro and not Corte San Pietro Hotel in Piazza San Pietro...sooooo we paid for 2 hotel rooms that nite (sept.17th, 2013). They refuse to acknowledge their dishonest behavior Beware!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea Anna C, Direttore generale at Sant'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Good morning,
in our hotel check-in starts from 2 p.m., you told us that you have made the check-in with me, Andrea, so it's impossible that you made it at 10 p.m. just because my shift ends at 8 p.m.
As we told you during our e-mail correspondence it's not possible give you back your money beacuse you asked us for a service that we gave you, we never seen the reservation for of the other hotel, it was supposed to be a your attention.
The air conditioning works perfectly, at the chek-out you haven't told us no problem with that, we don't understand why this comes out just now, one month later.
We are sorry for this your problem but we don't have any fault.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel in the old part of Matera called Sassi. Rooms are directly in the caves and are well equipped and very clean. The breakfast on the terrace was an unforgettable experience. Overall, a good hotel to be recommended. Not cheap but fairly reasonable room rates.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our bicycle tour company picked this hotel as part of a pre-trip. We arrived a day late due to travel problems but where greeted heartily by the receptionist when we arrived a day late.

We were given a room toward the top of the hotel. Bear in mind no room looks alike, many having been built into the limestone rock. Our room was not carved into rock but had a beautifully designed ceiling. The bright, white walls were refreshing. The recessed lighting making the entire room very inviting. We had plenty of space and a French balcony just big enough for a chair from which we could look over the canyon defining this city.

The one issue we had was air-conditioning, or lack thereof. We thought we had it. There was a device in the room, running, and spewing a cool air. We went for a walk, we returned to take a shower and go to dinner and then retired to bed all the while thinking the "air conditioning" would cool the room down after the sun set. Nope.

It must have been a swamp cooler; a large dehumidifier. About 2:00 am I finally opened the door to the French balcony because the room had become so warm. Given that we were only there one night, there was no reason to ask about it in the morning...the damage was done.

That said, dinner at the restaurant was very romantic. Our location near the center of the city allowed us to hike along the ravine and then up into the higher parts of the city. We enjoyed our stay here only wishing we had the benefit of air conditioning on this late summer's day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a unique and unusual experience! I loved my little cave room... It was clean and comfortable. I loved the little lights in the floor, it gave it such warm glow at night. The decor is simple but elegant. Considering this was a cave with only the entry door for windows it wasn't dark or gloomy at all. The white walls and linens made for a romantic and cozy ambiance. The temperature was just right, and it was not dank or musty smelling. Other rooms may have issues with moisture seeping thru the walls but mine was perfect. Hotel restaurant is fabulous! And drinks on the bar terrace, with a view to die for...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We thought we would stay here as a novel place to stay in a beautiful part of Italy. The hotel is well situated in the old district of the town, once out of the modern side of Matera it is a very nice town. The room was built into a cave and had some very original features, but we were disapointed with the damp smell that never went away and the rock hard beds. We would have explained this to recption when we left, but we weren't even asked if we enjoyed our stay... The restaurant was nice with good food, but very over priced and under staffed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sant'Angelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant'Angelo Hotel

Address: Rione Pianelle | Piazza San Pietro Caveoso, 75100 Matera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Matera
#8 Business Hotel in Matera
#13 Romantic Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sant'Angelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sant’Angelo Luxury Resort is placed in the enchanting rocky scenery of the Sassi of Matera.The hotel is the result of a great restoration process that involved cave-dwellings, buildings, stairs, narrow streets and courtyards thus creating a new concept of hotel...the "scattered hotel" or simply "albergo diffuso".The great work of the Italian interior designer Stefano Tardito, gave elegance and charm to this unique location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sant'Angelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Angelo Hotel Matera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant'Angelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.