We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in the caves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae to your Saves list
Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiorentini, 71 | Rioni Sassi, 75100 Matera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Matera
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Elegance in the caves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It is almost impossible to describe the fascinating, oddly beautiful, and eerie town of Matera. This hotel has been constructed out of the ancient caves of the Sassi, which, until the 1960s, was the second oldest continuously occupied city in the world. Our room was simple, but lovely, with the best bathroom of our month-long trip. The underground pool is stunning. The breakfast was very generous and offered many choices, including espresso drinks brought to your table. I highly recommend this hotel to those exploring this unique city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    207
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
105
415
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The room was literally a cave dug into the wall of the Sassi; nicely appointed with a wonderful view of the Sassi, and a shaded veranda outside and church bells echoing through the ravine. Excellent breakfasts. Truly a unique experience - highly recommended, as is a guided tour of the Sassi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Quite simply the most stunning place I have stayed. The staff were lovely, the rooms beautiful, the spa amazing!! Breakfast was delicious, and Matera itself I found magical. Looking forward to another visit

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A beautifully presented hotel comprising rooms that are actually caves carved out of the rock face the town is built upon. These caves bear little resemblance to those in which the population of Matera struggled to eke out a very difficult existence as recently as the 1950s; they are very well appointed, very comfortable and made a wonderful stop on our tour across Puglia. Breakfast was copious, good quality and taken in a downstairs cave. We did not have time to visit their spa with underground swimming pool but, judging from the rest of the hotel, it is sure to be good. Valet car parking was available but it was a 2 minute drive, and pleasant 10 minute walk to free car parking in the town. Matera is an intriguing place, quite one of the most beautiful places we visited. All highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We arrived mid afternoon on Tuesday and left on Thursday morning. Time enough to do this fabulous place justice.
The hotel in the Sassi is very unusual, perfectly clean, reception staff who fortunately spoke English and were v helpful.
Swimming in the pool in the cave system is 10 euros each but you have to do it once.
Breakfast was fine. Our first on our two week tour of the heel. Italians like their sweet stuff at breakfast but there was a cooked egg and chorizos plus cereal and toast. Fruit was delicious.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
Ooh we did a guided tour with Luigi: 20 euros for two hours. Worth every penny. Very informative and had excellent English.
Also see my review of Soul Kitchen. Great food.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Unique place to stay, Matera is wonderful.
Hotel is built into the rock and most rooms are caves.
Only stayed 2 nights which is enough to see the Sassi area
Would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers. Parking can be a bit of a problem but you can pull up outside and check in. The staff will show where to park for free.
Now if you don't like steps don't go to Matera as the Sassi is built into a steep sided valley.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I must say I had no input into choosing this hotel, as my husband did all the planning, but surely it was a highlight of our three week trip to Southern Italy. Our "cave" had its own private terrace and a wonderful view of the sassi. The bed was divine, everything was immaculate, and the location for walking the site was perfect. I cannot imagine a fuller or more delightful buffet breakfast of everything from pizza to sublime pastries to fresh pears. Only if one is unable to climb or navigate the stone pathways would I not recommend this magical place!

Room Tip: Higher up means a longer climb but a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae

Address: Via Fiorentini, 71 | Rioni Sassi, 75100 Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Matera
#6 Business Hotel in Matera
#13 Romantic Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda di San Martino lies in the heart of Matera’s Sassi Historical District, and at the same time it is conveniently located at a very short distance (100 meters) from the city center. The Locanda radiates outward from the deconsecrated church of San Martino and the street of the same name, through a series of balconies that enjoy a sunny exposure and a wonderful view of the Sasso Barisano. There are twenty-two guest rooms situated on four levels, renovated with the greatest care in order to respect their original forms as single homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda San Martino Matera
Hotel Locanda San Martino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.