We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gatta Buia

La Gatta Buia
Via Delle Beccherie 90,92 | Via Margherita 90, 92, 75100 Matera, Italy
+39 0835 256510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 202 Restaurants in Matera
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder, Winery, International, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We were guided to this restaurant by the hotel and were delighted with the meal we had. The Pugliese starters were fantastic and we enjoyed pasta main meals. We hadn't planned on having a dessert, but were tempted by Cannoli filled with mascarpone and orange- totally delightful. Our best meal during a week long stay in Puglia. it is well situated in the Sassi.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    108
    28
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

This restaurant is centrally located. We found it unremarkable. I had a lamb dish that was 60% bone. Decent red wine.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service, good food and nice embience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Got there late at night after reading good reviews. Located right in the center of the old city.
Good value for money, interesting dishes and good food. Wanted to return but didn't get the chance to... Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Our hotel recommended this restaurant for lunch and it was very pleasant.
The waiter was relaxed and attentive and helped us with a choice of wine which we really enjoyed. We just had pasta, and were a bit surprised to find carrot, where we would have expected tomato. No matter.
Most of the customers sat at the rear of the restaurant, as that is more cave-like and atmospheric I guess. We sat up front, which was a relief when a family came in and disappeared to the rear.
Good spot, which I imagine would be lovely outside as well in the summer. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Matera in March is fairly quiet. There are visitors but many of the restaurants are not open. We called into the Palazzo Gattino where we told that their restaurant was not open but the receptionist recommended La Gatta Buia. The restaurant was empty but we were welcomed in. The waiter explained that the menu was restricted. However we shared a platter of antipasti - local specialities - we couldn't identify them all but they were delicious especially the crispy grilled peppers. We then had pasta - one salt cod - 2 puttanesca style again v good. The highlight were the canolli - 2 each so crisp and light and filled with an orange flavoured ricotta - they were the best ever.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gatta Buia also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 

Been to La Gatta Buia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gatta Buia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.