We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went back twice in just a few days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gatta Buia

La Gatta Buia
Via Delle Beccherie 90,92 | Via Margherita 90, 92, 75100 Matera, Italy
0835256510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 184 Restaurants in Matera
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, International, Wine Bar, Winery, Chowder
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We went back twice in just a few days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was here on business and the group I was with introduced me to this restaurant. The food was excellent, really excellent, from the pasta to the roasted potatoes. We enjoyed it so much that everyone unanimously agreed to go back again for a second dinner a few nights later. I recommend this restaurant without reservation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    93
    23
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san clemente, ca
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal on a lovely piazza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had an late lunch at La Gatta Buia on this beautiful piazza. I had a "combo" plate of different regional dishes. We found the food in Matera, and in Basilicata, to be delicious. The bread is so good and the vegetables and fruit fresh and tasty, not to mention the homemade pastas which are to die for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Typical food and drinks from Basilicata. Outside, nice terrace on the piazza, and inside, nice cave restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“No luck required at the black cat -  Living la dolce vita with the locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

There's a good reason why the locals of Matera frequent La Gatta Buia, Renato and team have a passion and warmth that you don't often see, if you're in Matera it's well worth a visit and easy to find -  dinner was a lovely end to a day exploring the Sassi.

The restaurant offers great combination of a warm welcome, good service, modern and delicious Italian cuisine, wines by the glass, reasonable prices and a great atmosphere. 

You can also drop in for a glass of prosecco, wine coffee etc. we did in the early evening and decided to come back for dinner.

For those who don't speak much Italian, English is no problem, Renato is fluent and took the time to explain the menu, nice touch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gatta Buia also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 

Been to La Gatta Buia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gatta Buia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.