We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute unique location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B & B Nel Muro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B & B Nel Muro to your Saves list
B & B Nel Muro
muro 55, 75100 Matera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 95 Matera B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolute unique location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Staying in this B&B is a unique experience. It's hidden in one of the extraordinary streets of the Sassi of Matera, a quiet oasis and still in walking distance from the cathedral and the main squares where in summer, everyone meets for a walk, drink or ice cream. The room we stayed in was a recently renovated studio with small kitchen, spic and span bathroom and airco and offered 100% privacy and character. The owners are super friendly, very helpful and served a basic but delicious Italian breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    59
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
96
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had a really nice room with tv & bathroom. When I decided to stay a couple more nights the room had already been booked but they transferred me around the corner into an apartment with kitchen etc. at no extra charge. The location is excellent and very quiet. They gave me great tips on where to eat good and where to buy panini - supermarket is nearby but not obvious to find. They made me feel at home and further improved my experience in this wonderful town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

WOW ! This place is amazing!

I have travelled all over Italy, and on this trip we (wife, me + 2 kids) travelled through the Adriatic Regions on the way to Sicily (and back up the Tyrhenian) side, but this was without doubt the highlight of our stay. The b&b is in an amazing position, the building is quite incredible in itself, the hosts are wonderful and Matera is unforgetable. The hosts are Matera locals. This is the real deal. I only wish we had more time.

I've read a few well-off folks' winging about comforts, cleaniliness, parking, etc.: "Give me convenience or give me death!". Quite. JUST GO TO A BIG HOTEL AND BE DONE WITH IT!

Au contraire; Giuseppe met us where we parked, hauled up one of our bags, the room was beautiful, (he did the renos himself when a builder), comfortable (and we were there when it was 43°C) and inside one of the old Sassi houses, the history explanations were detailed (Giuseppe did tour guiding when younger), the breakfast was great (Italians don't have huge ones, folks) and the view from the balcony (breakfast and evening drinks) was unique.

I highly recommend this place, and will return as soon as I am in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I found B&B Nel Muro on google earth. The location looked perfect, so I contacted the B&B directly. The owner, Giuseppe, turned out to be a wonderful host, and the room was perfect! He met us in the Piazza Duomo to unload our luggage (which is only a 10 second walk from the B&B) and drove with me to the nearest free public parking lot...Parking in the sassis is all but non existant. We had a triple room with a queen bed for my wife and I, and a twin for our 10 year old son. Both beds were crisp and comfy, and the room was spacious and spotless!! It had the added bonus of satelite TV and a mini fridge, and a beautiful high "sassi style" ceiling. The breakfast was served on Giuseppe's terrace overlooking the sassi. An amazing view of an extraordinary city! While it wasn't a buffet breakfast like some other larger B&B's we stayed, it was some of the best coffee and cakes we had on our three week vacation in Italy...made by Giuseppe's wife, and served by him with a gracious smile. If you are looking for quality clean accommodation in the sassi's of Matera and enjoy the personal touch of a smaller B&B, then don't hesitate in booking B&B Nel Muro. (see pic of room, terrace view, and Giuseppe with my wife and son)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I booked this B&B based on the reviews Tripadvisor and unfortunately I was quite underwhelmed by our stay here. There were no clear directions to the B&B while it is not easy to find - it would be a good idea to tell guests how to get to the B&B. We had a room that was not located in the B&B itself, but just off the Piazza Duomo. The location itself is good, but the room was very spartan and the worst thing, there was no window and no fresh air at all. There is some kind of ventilation system, which was very noisy, but that didn't seem to work at all. Because of a lack of a window or even just a vent shaft, it was also the darkest room I have ever slept in, which made it all feel a bit claustrophobic. I think we had the worst room of the B&B, but be aware and ask for a room with a window when you choose to stay here.

Antonia, the owner of the B&B is very nice and hospitable, so no complaints there. Also the breakfast, served in the kitchen of Antonia's home, while simple is nice with home made cake, coffee and bread.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

It was just great staying there. First: call them when you get there, they gonna pic you up! (btw it is included in the service, so don't worry they don't charge you for the ride) the rooms are very clean, the owners are very welcoming and outgoing, It is very central and whatever you wanna know, you can ask the owners, they are happy to help you. AND when u get there, ask them a restaurant to go, they gonna tell u the best place ( with low prices too) where you can eat. the food in this restaurant is like from a italian "nonna", soo delicious! (but i can't remember the name of it, but is close to the B&B)
the breakfast is simple BUT all u eat is homemade, i loved the jelly she made! you eat in their home, where u feel like home!
Grazie a voi siete una famiglia molto gentile, era bellissima di stare nel vostro B&B e mangiara la collatione nella vostra casa!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Well, don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining, it was a wonderful week end with my husband in this unique & peculiar city.Tonia and Giuseppe, the hosts, were very nice, and most important, the room and the bathroom were very clean. It's just that it was a little different from what I expected after reading the reviews: for instance I didn't know that the room was located in another street from where I had breakfast, which was served in the family small kitchen on a very small table, and not on any terrace looking on the sassi( it's just a balcony, anyway). I didn't know that the room might be very humid and warm, since there's no air circulation: moreover I have to share the house with another guest, so I couldn't keep the door open. He left the door of his room open when he left, so I noticed that his room had a tv, while there was no tv in mine.
I really appreciate Tonia's efforts to make the guests feel confortable, it's just that I think it's fear to be objective to the tripadvisor' s members. That's why I like and use tripadvisor everytime I travel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B & B Nel Muro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Nel Muro

Address: muro 55, 75100 Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B&B is situated in the highest part of the Caveoso district.From the terrace you can enjoy a wonderful panoramic view on the old districts and UNESCO World Heritage Site.The B&B is situated in a strategic position just a few meters from the Cathedral and the historic centre.To make your stay unforgettable you can walk down the narrow street of the old Sassi district and dine at “Il Cantuccio” restaurant that serves excellent local cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your B & B Nel Muro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B & B Nel Muro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.