We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita to your Saves list
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Civita 28, 75100 Matera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Matera
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have been planning to visit Matera for some years - and finally made it. Exceeded our best expectations. Also because Sextantio is a wonderful hotel: using ancient caves as rooms, reception and common areas, their rehabilitation was extraordinary - architectural and functional excellence, comfort - and the quality of the service could not be better.

Room Tip: As far as we could understand, not all the rooms have windows - which are extremely important to ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    57
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
440
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

In planning our family's recent trip to Italy, we decided to design an itinerary that would include a combination of the well-traveled tourist areas like Venice and Rome and more remote locations that would allow us to get away from the crowds. Matera and other areas of Basilicata turned out to be the highlight of our vacation. Photos cannot adequately convey the rugged beauty of this historic town. Sextantio was the perfect choice for our stay. The staff went out of their way to make our visit memorable - from preparing the lovely candlelit room for our arrival to making suggestions about local sites and restaurants to preparing a wonderful daily breakfast filled with rustic savory and sweet baked goods, fresh fruit and more. Rooms are simply, yet elegantly designed to take into account the setting. A few other reviewers mentioned drawbacks such as issues with the air conditioning, steep incline to reach the hotel and explore the town, no TV. Any concerns we might have encountered were alleviated by beauty and tranquility of the hotel and surrounding area. We made good use of our time in Matera, exploring the town, hiking down a ravine located across from the hotel and taking a day to drive to the coast and visit other small towns in the region. This was truly a one-of-kind experience and I hope we can one day return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Just arrived back from a 5 night stay at the Sextantio hotel. It truly is an amazing experience unlike any other hotel you can imagine. We had an upgrade to a superior cave (no 10) and they also asked us if we would like to move to another superior cave to enrich the experience - which we did (no 15). Cave 15 has a large shared terrace and one night we bought bread, cheese wine etc. and had a marvellous meal enjoying the views and the setting sun, surrounded by candles. Simply cannot fault the hotel and the staff were wonderfully friendly. Matera itself is a hidden gem in Italy. We flew into Bari airport and caught the Puglia bus to the centre of Matera (cost just 3 Euros each - unbelievable) - and then a taxi to the hotel (just 5 minutes away).

Room Tip: We stayed at cave 10 - nice little sub-caves inside - very atmospheric. We also stayed in cave 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My familly's initial travel plan was to drive from Napoli to Sicilia. When organizing trip details I remembered one Sextantio's photo in Pinterest and I decided to analyze possibility to visit. We had to change our initial route many kilometers but I can now confirm that was a perfect decision. Arriving to Sextantio was an experience in fact. Old rock streets, passages and an incredible valley as a view. I don't know if it was because we were a complete familiy but we got en excellent room. It was on the third floor (remember all by old stairs, so consider what you carry as luggage). Was undescribable the excitement we all had when we got in the room: one of these caves, with soft light, unbelievable good taste for the decoration and perfectly organized to have the sense that you are in a Middle Age ambient. Even the bed has a special altitude to imitate the old beds that people in town used to have and you have all the services for a first class hotel (air-condition, wi-fi, heating, etc) but all "hidden" in suitable furnishing of the period.
Breakfast is excellent, given in the common area, the old space used as a church.
I highly recommend Sextantio and Matera. I loved it. So much that even was a bit expensive for us, we decided to stay one more night. Sextantio is the result of high investment for preserving history so double merit for them.

Room Tip: Check it in their web, they have all the different rooms with photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

First time we stayed in a cave. It was very good. The rooms, the caves are very pleasantly restored. It feels like a very nice hotel room. Everything needed is within the room and the atmosphere is splendid. No television but actually a very well working wifi. The air-condition worked very goof. The breakfast was served in an old church, it was kind of Italian, not so much varieties, bit good enough.

Room Tip: There are 18 caves. We occupied two, they were similar. One was a little humid, it was raining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had an amazing trip! Thank you so much!
Everything about this place is very relaxed and calming. We had a huge room, beautifully lit with candles and soft lighting.
Lots to go and see in the town and in the national park opposite. Great local restaurants and bars within walking distance.
Definitely worth a detour.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

How often do you get to sleep in a cave , This unique hotel in this interesting city is worth a night for sure . The town requires a visit and this is the place to stay if your coming to see how people lived even as late as the 1950's in these caves . The hotel has a certain charm , hard to find pack light its a trek to get your bags to the room . Breakfast is fantastic , The rooms a little damp but to be expected in a cave

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita

Address: Via Civita 28, 75100 Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Matera
#2 Romantic Hotel in Matera
#2 Family Hotel in Matera
#5 Business Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matera can be found in the south of Italy and is world famous because of its Sassi quarters, a stunning and well preserved example of a village where hundreds of caves were turned into dwellings, churches and palaces. A UNESCO World Heritage site since 1993, the Sassi represent a unique hamlet throughout Italy: the earliest inhabitants date back to the stone and bronze age, in the middle ages it boasted several monastic communities and later became a vibrant farming centre, owing to the rich harvests from the surrounding hills and plains. The Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita project is placed in the oldest part of the Sassi quarters, the CIVITA, facing the spectacular Murgia park and its rock-hewn churches. It comprises 18 rooms (some of them exceeding 160m²) and an ancient church, the "Cripta della Civita," now used as a common area, all renovated to retain their original features. The Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita project is situated in the historical heart of Matera. The 18 caves have been renovated in full respect of the local heritage. Each cave reveals the original shape and materials. The interior design, the respectful and minimalistic approach of Sextantio is reflected in the plain furniture elements. The guests will experience a particular atmosphere evoking the cultural and human history of the Sassi of Matera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sextantio Civita Caves Hotel Matera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.