We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant suprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rendezvous

The Rendezvous
59-61 Shore Road, East Wittering, England
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Herts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“pleasant suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This looks like the usual seaside cafe at first glance, but don't be fooled. We have only had breakfast here -4 adults and 1 child. Owner lovely, very friendly and helpful. We all had various cooked breakfasts which we all agreed were deliciously - not greasy. We will certainly go back and also sample the evening menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cracking breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The 4 of us came today, for breakfast and it was outstanding. Delicious cooked breakfast and nice cup of tea! Came here last night too. Staff always friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the exterior - food and service excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We ate here after trying to get in at other restaurants locally. We originally avoided it as the exterior looked a bit dated and not very inviting. However.... the welcome, service and food were all excellent.
As far as we could tell everything was homemade/cooked. It came piping hot and was delivered by a smiling, friendly waitress. ALL the staff were lovely.
Probably not the place if you're looking for a posh, romatic evening. But if what you want is great food served in a friendly atmosphere, give it a go!
It was so good we came back for breakfast...great value!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A very relaxing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Found this restaurant by chance as we were heading for the Boulevard and they were full so walked a few steps further and found Rendezvous. Smallish menu which suits me fine as I can never decide when it's a large menu, an excellent choice of dishes though and very varied. All food is cooked while you wait but was still served very promptly. The food is very well presented and very fresh. We enjoyed our meal so much we returned for breakfast the next morning and were served with excellent coffee and very well cooked English breakfasts. We were all disappointed we couldn't fit in dessert after dinner as we were too full. Two very friendly ladies run this restaurant and it is a credit to them. I have already recommended it to a friend who is camping in West Wittering for the next day tens. Thank you ladies we really enjoyed your company and food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My son and I came across this lovely restaurant when we were cycling around East Wittering and we decided to have breakfast there which was excellent. We sat at a table outside on the new decking area they have recently installed. We enjoyed it so much we decided to have lunch there the next day. The food and service were excellent - my mussels were superb - and I can highly recommend The Rendezvous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rendezvous also viewed

East Wittering, West Sussex
East Wittering, West Sussex
 
East Wittering, West Sussex
East Wittering, West Sussex
 

Been to The Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rendezvous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.