We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic bistro / restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samphire

Samphire
57 Shore Road, East Wittering PO20 8DY, England
01243672754
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic bistro / restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Great little restaurant with superb food presented very well with lots of flavour. Service was attentive and friendly, the atmosphere was perfect for a relaxed evening - the owner / chef should be proud

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    35
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had lunch at Samphire on a Friday while house hunting. Lovely relaxed atmosphere, very friendly service and the food was wonderful. Looking forward to moving to the area so that we can become regulars!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Tiny restaurant with superb food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a short break at the Witterings and booked in advance for a table at Samphire as we knew it was a very small restaurant. The atmosphere is lovely, friendly knowledgeable staff, unpretentious but with superb food. The menu is small as all their food is fresh and locally sourced, but there is enough variety to suit most people. The freshly baked bread sticks were absolutely superb!

We had Pork Belly, Sea Bream and Lamb as main courses and all were fabulous, just the right sized portions and presented very nicely. Desserts were equally good and wine by the glass was not only reasonable, but also very good quality. Samphire is a little haven in East Wittering - which has not much else to offer in terms of decent restaurants. I wish them every success!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unpretentious but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This eating place - restaurant is perhaps too posh a word for it, more a bistro - is down a side street in an area where you don't expect to find anything better than a run of the mill cafe so at first it doesn't look inviting (especially when it's dark and the bins are on the pavement!) but it's much better than you fear. We ate there only once and the owner/chef was away but his stand-in did a decent job.The ambience is friendly, unpretentious, down to earth and the furnishings/decor are simple . On the fairly small menu there were interesting dishes to suit most tastes. As we were driving we had wine by the glass but this was fine. Service was perfectly OK but the food took quite a while to arrive. It turned out rather more expensive than we had imagined it would.but we wouldd definitely go again

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Discover a local secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Every Monday there's a 'locals night' at Samphire which features a limited menu at great value prices. Same quirky but enjoyable ambience, friendly service, and delicious food, but just a little easier on the wallet...Do book in but don't say I told you as it already gets a bit busy...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samphire also viewed

West Wittering, West Sussex
East Wittering, West Sussex
 
East Wittering, West Sussex
 

Been to Samphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samphire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.