We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discover a local secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samphire

Samphire
57 Shore Road, East Wittering PO20 8DY, England
01243672754
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Discover a local secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Every Monday there's a 'locals night' at Samphire which features a limited menu at great value prices. Same quirky but enjoyable ambience, friendly service, and delicious food, but just a little easier on the wallet...Do book in but don't say I told you as it already gets a bit busy...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    35
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My family stayed in The Witterings for a short break at the end of October 2012. We visited The Samphire twice, once on Monday for their local set menu, which was very enjoyable, the food was lovely and the service friendly. The meal including wine and beer for 6 of us came to under £120.00!! Well worth it. So four of us visited again on Thursday night, not a set menu night so more expensive but my goodness was it worth it.... We ate, the sea bass, phesant, lamb and the mussels, AND Wow!!! we all sampled each others and I can honestly say they were all amazing... along with a lovely bottle of prosecco to finish it off. .... If we had to be critical at all the only thing we would change would be, a little less lighting and a little more background music... but the food and friendly service made up for that in abundance... 9/10. Thank you Samphire, will definitely visit again soon. The Smiffs x

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Informal restaurant with excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This restaurant has been recommended in many websites and the good food guide, so we thought we'd give it a go. It didn't look like much when we arrived but the welcome was friendly and genuine. Very good choices on the menu and it was difficult to know what to have. The Moules were very good and just cooked - perfect really. The fish stew was excellent with lovely flavours but I'd have preferred a wider variety of fish. The home made bread was tasty but I'd have liked a choice of different breads - after all if you go to the trouble to make such an axcellent white loaf, then to make a few other types woudln't be difficult. Lovely simple desserts and a good wine list at sensible prices.
I can see why they have a good reputation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fish is supreme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

their fish is outstanding. the chef certainly knows how to cook and present fish. homely atmosphere, served by charming staff.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Dave and his team got from strength to strength. How lucky we are in East Wittering to have such a starry restaurant right on the doorstep. I have never had a bad meal and sometime it is an absolute world class meal, like the one I had last night, scallops with crispy belly of pork, dover sole with caper butter and mixed berry crumble, each one faultless. Well done Dave and the team we love you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samphire also viewed

West Wittering, West Sussex
East Wittering, West Sussex
 
East Wittering, West Sussex
 

Been to Samphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samphire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.