We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tropics View Hotel

Tropics View Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mandeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropics View Hotel
Save
You added Tropics View Hotel to your Saves list
Wardville | Hatfield, Mandeville, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mandeville
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dishonest”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed there in October and the accommodation was what I expected - very basic but was comfortable for the price. However, my biggest problem was the integrity of management. I used my credit card to pay for the four nights. When I got back to New York I checked my account online and realized that my account was double charged. I immediately contacted them by phone and email and they acknowledged the error and promised to credit my account within a couple days. One month has passed and my account was not credited. I filed a dispute with MasterCard and followed through with a telephone call to the hotel castigating them for their dishonesty and they credited my account immediately.

In good conscience, I could not recommend anyone to this place again. They must realize that a small business such as this will only succeed through references.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This place is Horrible! The customer service is horrible! It's as if the employees hate working there. They never smile and seem burdened by simply requests. My room had one working bathroom, and we found cockroaches in the other room. The microwave did not work, and the fridge was leaking. The wifi service only worked in the doorway or the room. My Aunt and her husband had to request to be transfered to another room because of a pungent odour...that being the celing was covered with mold. (A massive amount of mold that definitely had to have been growing for several months, due to the leaking toilet from my room that was directly above).The breakfast menu never contained fruits, the sugar contained ants in it, and the orange juice given was of course powdered orange juice. The pool was like a swamp in hell, when asked how often they cleaned/emptied it, we were told they never that "we just put medicine in it". The last straw was when we came home one night and found our door wide open. I would NEVER in a millions years recommend this hotel to anyone, not even my worst enemy. Horrible Horrible Place. They need serious renovations, a new management team and all employees either need to be fired or trained and regularly coached on customer service skills. Hotel Tropix View =Hotel Transilvania. YUCK! No stars!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE..... I stayed here to attend a wedding in mandeville. The pictures that you see are lies. They were probably taken the day this hell hole was built. There is NO pool. What they call a pool looks like a swamp. When we asked we were told that they NEVER clean it. NOTHING works, toilets don't flush, we we're told to put our hand in the toilet and pull the chain. Other friends were told to fill up the garbage with water and throw it in to flush it. The bed sheets are dirty, lights don't work, the breakfast they say you get sucks. They gave us boiled hotdog and beans. The staff told me that I would have to pay 100$ us more per night to switch rooms. Friends could not close the washroom or they got stuck. A friend sat on their chair and the leg fell off. Another friend opened the shower door and the whole thing fell in. Uncle opened fridge and it was full of dead roaches. The WATER at the bar was expired when we told them they just put it back to sell to somebody else. We asked for our money back for out last night. I would rather sleep on the street. How could I forget. I could not use the sink in the washroom.due to it cloging. Not one person who stayed there would go back. They should throw a bomb in this place and blow it up. When we got home from the wedding a friends room door was left wide open with all of her personal belongings on there. This place should be closed down.

Room Tip: Don not stay here. I see an option for how the spa was WHAT SPA?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This ia very good place to stay.Location is excellent,you are able to avoid the heavy traffic in center city Mandeville.The rooms are very clean,great parking and the services are excellent. I spend a wonderful time there, can't wait to get back there.The price is relatively cheap comparing to hotels in other areas and the fact that this an area where the weather is on the cool side make this a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A good place to stay. Rooms are clean.Dining staff helpful. Did not get my bottle of water as requested. was very thirsty during the night. was recommended by friends, Good value for money. although did not use the pool or gym. Always a next time. i would stay again hope they provide the bottled water as promised

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. petersburg
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at Tropics View Hotel outside of Mandeville Jamaica December of 2011. The hotel was not bad, and the price was pretty good US$70.00 per night. I had a standard room, it was clean and well maintained. The hotel staff were nice and friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

A convenient stop if going from Kingston to the western part of the island. The hotel is just off the main road when you have passed the Mandeville by pass. Nested on a hill in a private setting the compound is large. Lots of concrete and pavement, not much trees. We were shown to a two bedroom suite. One Ks bed in a room, twin beds in the other. Ceiling fans in each room two were broken . No need for AC at 600m altitude - except maybe in August. The shutters were broken, half the bulbs were shot, no lock on bathroom door, no water pressure at all. A cable TV with many programs in living. Washer, dryer. Parking under your condo. Restaurant does not have a big choice, but the food is excellent- cooked to order and fresh. Both at dinner and breakfast.
Did not stay long enough to try the pool. Also a bit noisy as close to the road where many trucks roll by.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropics View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics View Hotel

Address: Wardville | Hatfield, Mandeville, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Manchester Parish > Mandeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mandeville
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Tropics View Hotel Jamaica/Mandeville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropics View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.