We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kariba Kariba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mandeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kariba Kariba
Save
You added Kariba Kariba to your Saves list
1 1/2 McKinley Road, Mandeville, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Mandeville B&B and Inns
Prague
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheap and clean accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were looking for a one night stay in Mandeville and this was just perfect. The place looks relaxed and the owner is very kind. Small breakfast is included in the price (cash only).wi-fi is available.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

we stayed two nights in kariba and we loved it! from the second we went in, we could feel the warm welcome of the place! derrick, the owner, and his staff, are full of nice attention. the room was big, clean, bright, quiet even if at the front. the bed was the best i slept on during my stay in jamaica (and i stayed in 5 different hotels!).we couldnt have felt more relaxed!
i didnt manage to submit pictures of the bedroom as the format was wrong... sorry. we had a tour, they all look very nice. plus, some work is being done to improve.
the breakfast was good, and we have been told that it will be improved with new cooking ideas. can't wait!
good location, as it is close from the Mandeville. we could walk if we wanted to.
unfortunatelly we couldnt find the time to visit Derrick's farm, but he showed us some pictures and it looks fantastic. will go next time we will stay.
thank you SO much for what i call real authentic hospitality. you created a wonderful guest house.
DEFINITELY the right place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Myself and partner stayed at the Kariba guest for the first two weeks in December. The kariba is very homely the rooms are standard but clean and well kept. Dodson the house keper is very pleasant and easy to talk too. The owner Derrick and his wife are friendly too. My only complaint is it was not made clear how many times a week the room should be cleaned or the sheets changed, and the water was cold, we were told to let the shower run for 10 minutes and it would then become hot but this did not happen. The kicthen was not clean and was very dirty, the sink was blocked for the whole two weeks we were there. My husband is resident in Jamaica so we did not use the taxi's but it is only a 10 minute if that car drive into town. We did not have the breakfast advertised with the room so we are unable to say how it tasted. The reception area is beautiful and so clean at the time myself and husband stayed we were the only guess's there save three days so we had the place to ourselves that was nice. We would spend some time there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

We decided to stay at this guest house on the basis of previous reviews and to see a bit of the real Jamaica. When we arrived we were met by a very courteous man. The lobby was beautifully furnished and the place seemed relaxed at first. We asked if we could order cold drinks for our driver as he did a great job driving us up from Kingston. We were told there were no drinks on the premises which we found rather strange. Apparently the fridge was not working and therefore they couldn't store any food or drinks. We were offered herbal tea though which was very kind of him. We were shown to our room which was lovely and clean. My main worry was the noise from the main road as our room was at the front . I was right to worry as we couldn't sleep all night. because of the traffic noise. We expected to stay in Mandeville for about 3 nights and had only paid for one nights stay and intended to pay the rest later. It was just as well we only paid for one night as when I went to have a shower there was no hot water. We immediately reported this to the man in reception and he said that the owner was sorting things out that evening. At what point was he going to tell us we had no hot water? It would have been courtesy to have informed us of this when we first arrived. Anyway we decided that they were doing their best to resolve the situation. The nearest place to eat anything was in town so we had to get a route taxi to take us there and back. When we returned we still had no hot water and the man in reception had gone home. In the morning we came to breakfast and it was obvious we were the only guests there. We had already made up our minds we were not staying there any longer. The same man as the night before greeted us and offered us breakfast which was nice. Then Derrick the owner appeared and we had a very pleasant chat with him. We explained we were moving on instead of staying and he understood our situation. He then offered to show us his farm nearby which was a great expereince. It certainly is a little haven with beautiful lsuh vegetation. Afterwards Derrick kindly gave us a lift to the bus station so that we could make our way to Negril.
They were all very friendly and kind there but we just couldn't stay there for practical reasons which is a shame.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

The Kariba guest house is a wonderful place to stay if you are around Mandeville for any period of time. Derrick and his family are incredibly friendly and Dawbson is always there to help with any thing you could need and his cooking is finger licking good. The room was clean, comfortable and had its own balcony. Even Rex the dog is there to make sure you feel like home. The house is cool and decorated in local styles and using local materials. Derrick, the owner also owns and takes care of a nature park close by, ask him and he will gladly arrange for a visit. I strongly recommend Kariba Guest house to anyone looking for a quiet, homely and safe environment and will stay there again on my next visit.

  • Liked — The friendliness and homely feeling
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

My group were the very first guests at Kariba, I believe in July of 1998. We had stayed at Kariba's previous location the year previously. Derrick O'Connor and his family have made us feel right at home during the several times we have returned. The rooms are very comfortable and the meals we were served by Derrick and company were excellent with Jamaican cuisine, occasionally adjusted for our American tastes. Derrick also provided various other services such as transport to and from Montego Bay and other side trips. He has a farm in Mandeville which is an interesting visit to see native flora and fauna. I would highly recommend. I have heard that Kariba has been expanded since my last stay in 2004. -- Rev. Brian Kinney, Nashville, Tennessee

  • Liked — Service and friendliness
  • Disliked — I had no complaints
  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover,Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

I spent a night with church members as it was our convention. It is a lovely location. Very spacious property. Lounge area where you can relax. Price is right even for us Jamaicans.The Owner is friendly and entertaining. He will also take you to his other property which you must visit called Little Rippon farm, that memory will live with you forever.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kariba Kariba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariba Kariba

Address: 1 1/2 McKinley Road, Mandeville, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Manchester Parish > Mandeville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mandeville
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the cool rolling hills of Mandeville, the heart of central Jamaica, lies the quiet, restful, cozy getaway - come and be at one or two. It is a wonderful place for families/groups, which are our specialties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kariba Kariba Hotel Mandeville
Kariba Kariba Jamaica/Mandeville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kariba Kariba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.