We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but does the job!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mandeville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mandeville Hotel to your Saves list
Mandeville Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Hotel St., Mandeville, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mandeville
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Basic, but does the job!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed at the Mandeville for one night, whilst overnighting in Clarendon after visiting a relative nearby. Had a few difficulties locating hotel, but that was due to the poor street signage in Jamaica.

Was greeted by a very friendly lady, who made checking in a pleasure. Room was a large double and whilst not the best I have stayed in, was clean and comfortable and had cable TV.

Wireless internet available in reception area, or if you're lucky and located not too far from reception, then you can pick it up from your room.

Breakfast service was a little slow, however, the gentleman serving us (sorry, can't remember his name), was very apologetic and when it arrived, was cooked to perfection.

The pool looked very inviting, but unfortunately, did not have a chance to try it out on this short visit.

If you're looking for something basic and reasonably priced, then you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
8
8
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

The hotel was dirty it reminded me of a flop house. The bathrooms were gross. I would never stay there again.

  • Liked — The Front desk staff was nice.
  • Disliked — The food on the floor of the hallway that stayed there for two days.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S. A
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

Very budget friendly. Stayed there for one night while visiting Mandeville in May 2008. This is an older property. Nice wooden floors. Spacious room had one double and one twin bed, seating area & desk. Older furniture. Air conditioning. Cable tv. Bathroom displayed some ammenities that shows it was well planned - hooks on the back of the door, glass shelf above sink, grab bar in bath/shower combination. My room was on the second floor. A porter took our bags up and set up the tv and a/c unit without even being prompted. Front desk staff courteous. Gated entry to property manned by a guard.

Bathtub had remnants of non-skid applique - which led it to look dirty.

Meals offered at an additional cost - I don't know how it tasted as I did not eat there.

Overall, located right in the middle of the town. Close to supermarkets, public transportation, pharmacies, fast food & local restaurants (serving jamaican dishes). Mandeville has a limited number of hotels, and there is really not much of a choice. But Mandeville hotel is a good place to stay because of the location, ease of getting around, and the price.

  • Liked — location and the security at the gate
  • Disliked — needs upgrading
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

Stayed for one week in a king room.

I would guess that the bedrooms have been recently refurbished with wooden floors and new bedding. They were much better than I was expecting.

The public areas however were well overdue a refurb, with fraying, holey carpets and uneven floors. The pool was cleaned daily but poolside needed repair.

The restaurant started off well with lovely food, although my choices weren't always available. By the end of the week the quality had decreased dramatically.

The bar was dimly lit but served a great cocktail.

The best thing about the hotel though was the staff. All were great, friendly and nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

The Mandeville Hotel provided wonderful customer service. The hotel is secure and comfortable. Great for long-term, business trips to Mandeville.

  • Liked — Customer Service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

Service is pitiful with exception of Jason & Alex in the dining room. If you like the sound of howling dogs all night, this is the place for you (dogs are drowned out by woofers from the street parties on the weekend). Hotel will provide hot water only if you complain several times. Maid service is good. Kitchen only has less than half of what is listed on the menu. One time I ordered the soup du jour only to told they don't have any. The place is largely empty except for the Americans working at Alpart in the valley. Occasionally there's a wedding, but the dining room is empty the majority of the time. I was psyched to have a full range of TV channels this time but that only lasted a couple of days. I was down to CNN & some local channels for the rest of the visit.

P.S. I was watching TV at 1 am because I was roasting in bed and was attacked by ants on the couch.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2005

The scenery/landscape is beautiful if you are interested in nature. The rooms could use some upgrading to a little more plush furnishing.

It would have a been a much more pleasant experience if the customer service representatives (front desk clerks) were a lot more friendlier and eager to please. I think Customer Service training could help to resolve that issue.

Overall, the hotel stay was good.

The restaurant served good food. However, room service was really slow. It took an extra long time to receive food that was ordered to be delivered to the room. When it finally arrived, it was cold (especially disappointing for breakfast). I opted to get up early to catch the breakfast at the restaurant instead of ordering room service. I haven't tried much of the dinner items, since I had the chance to venture out into the town to local restaurants. I had mostly breakfast and lunch items.

Its worth given a try. I usually stay there for most visits, because its convenient to other locations. It is located in the heart of Mandeville and the hustle and bustle, but is so neatly located that you are not even interrupted by whatever is occurring on the outside.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandeville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandeville Hotel

Address: 4 Hotel St., Mandeville, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Manchester Parish > Mandeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mandeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandeville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4 acres of tropical gardens in the centre of Mandeville, one of Jamaica's fast growing towns, The Mandeville Hotel is a landmark of great Jamaican hospitality. A variety of accommodation options provide guests with the combination of a relaxing environment and the convenience of a central location. For events - weddings, groups, meetings, banquets and conferences - the Mandeville Hotel is central Jamaica's most desirable address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mandeville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandeville Hotel Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandeville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.