We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior banquet facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandeville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mandeville Hotel to your Saves list
Mandeville Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Hotel St., Mandeville, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mandeville
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
“Superior banquet facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Located in a secluded section of downtown Mandeville, it is by far the best accommodation in the region. I had an immediate need to plan a large family gathering. I found the event planning team extremely professional and responsive. After conveying my requirements from afar, I was awfully nervous about hotel meeting my expectations. Essentially arrived at the day of the event, and they exceeded all my expectations. The hall was impeccably decorated, the food was off the charts (no rubber chicken here), ancillary items like music, parking, rest rooms, wheel chair access were all in place. The support staff was extremely courteous & went out of their way to accommodate our needs. In short, they delivered a first class event at a reasonable cost. Several family members stayed overnight and expressed their delight in the quality of the rooms and the traditional jamaican breakfast offered. Bottom line, a fantastic value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    16
    2
    8
See reviews for
8
8
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This hotel is a scenic garden right in the center of the rural town of Mandeville over two thousand feet up in the Jamaican mountains. It is a garden setting and a little rustic, as one would expect up in the mountains. The accomodations vary between hotel rooms or apartments. The choice is yours. The staff is very pleasant and the family who own and manage are around. All amenities are right there in town, a few steps away, such as banks, restaurants, beauty salons and supermarkets. The hotel hosts meetings and weddings. If you are coming from overseas you will find that the rates on such functions are a fraction of what you pay at home and they do put on a memorable event.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to let you view and choose a room based on your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I enjoyed staying at this hotel,the facilities are basic ,but sufficient ,and the staff very helpful and attentive to your needs. I enjoyed their breakfasts ; do try the cornmeal porridge and the traditional jamaican breakfast,I also loved the three course dinner with black bean soup,grilled jerk chicken and the best carrot cake I ever had . I will definitely come this way again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The Mandeville Hotel is located right in the middle of town, but because it is on a dead end street in the middle of attractive grounds, it is very secluded. Our room was large and attractive, the restaurant had excellent meals, and the hotel was quiet and comfortable. The staff were efficient and helpful, and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I got married at the Mandeville Hotel in April this year (2011) and it was just perfect. The location,
venue, ambience, food; everything was just right. I must mention the Wedding Planner, she get 100% from me and my husband. Overall, the Mandeville Hotel helped to make our wedding a most memorable occasion.

Sonia from London

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Hotel's location is great, staff delightful and service is second to none

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I've being staying at the mandeville hotel for over 5 years now...the studio rooms could use some updated furniture...the manager,mr.paul grently,who was always there for us if we encounter any problems while staying on the property.even on his days off he came in to help out when my family had problems with the room,and the people at the front desk were afraid to make any changes...the house keeping department were always providing clean rooms,towels,linen etc.valrie & lynn from that deptartment were very helpful.the front desk staff,mainly ms.chambers, & dane were always helpful...since mr.grently isn't there anymore, I've been staying at other hotel around town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mandeville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandeville Hotel

Address: 4 Hotel St., Mandeville, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Manchester Parish > Mandeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mandeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandeville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4 acres of tropical gardens in the centre of Mandeville, one of Jamaica's fast growing towns, The Mandeville Hotel is a landmark of great Jamaican hospitality. A variety of accommodation options provide guests with the combination of a relaxing environment and the convenience of a central location. For events - weddings, groups, meetings, banquets and conferences - the Mandeville Hotel is central Jamaica's most desirable address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Mandeville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandeville Hotel Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandeville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.