We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paella is not fresh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tapineria

Tapineria
Calle Tapineria, 16, 46001 Valencia, Spain (La Seu)
+34 963915440
Improve this listing
Ranked #689 of 1,976 restaurants in Valencia
Neighborhood: La Seu
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: La Seu
San Diego
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Paella is not fresh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After we ate here we should have known to ask how long it takes to receive paella. What we learned on our trip is that if takes less than 20 minutes, it isn't good. This paella came out in 5 minutes and was not even re-heated enough to be better than luke warm. The appetizer and dessert saved the experience, but overall it isn't worth seeking out.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    5
    18
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have spent the last week wandering around the tiny streets of Valencia's old town and came upon this restaurant completely by chance. It was about 1:30 in the afternoon and only one other table was taken, the sun was out and we thought we would grab a quick beer and make a decision on what to do for lunch.

We ended up choosing to eat here, and went for their 10euro lunch menu (starter, main, desert/coffee and bread). It was a good decision, as both our starters were lovely followed by Paella (maybe not the best in the city but well worth the money). We were too full for desert but the options were good.

The setting was lovely, in a quiet square off the main stretch, under orange trees an authentic setting with lovely service. The tables quickly filled up with a mixture of locals and expats/tourists. By the time we left there were none. All in all a lovely experience and 26 euros, including drinks for two people... Perfecto!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The biggest plus of this place is the outdoor sets where you can enjoy your meal. Food is good although not outstanding and the owners try their best to understand your requests. Price is definitely fair. Overall a pleasant experience.

Personal note: I definitely preferred the Seafood Paella over the Valenciana Paella

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Serenity in the city -wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stumbled upon this place having dodged down an alley way to get away from the throngs in Plaza de la Regina. This place is in a quiet square with tables outside under orange trees and inside options. We ate inside and the interior design is gorgeous....simple, quirky and relaxing. The staff are excellent....speak good English which helped us and the food was delicious. The menu of the day for €10.00 Was good value. A little oasis of calm....the paella was lovely...a great experience and don't be put off if all the outdoor tables have gone....inside is just as nice but different. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapineria also viewed

Valencia, Valencia Province
 
Valencia, Valencia Province
Valencia, Valencia Province
 

Been to Tapineria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapineria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.