We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almudin

Almudin
Calle Almudin 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain (La Seu)
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,976 restaurants in Valencia
Price range: $22 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: La Seu
Description: Especialidad en Paella Valenciana y otros arroces. Tapas caseras.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stopped at Almudin almost by mistake and it was very rewarding. The restaurant is very charming in a small road next to plaza de le virgen, away from all the fuss and the touristy places. The food was very good, they had a decent selection of tapas as well as a Paella Valenciana, and we enjoyed one of the best Sangria we had in Spain there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    101
    54
    14
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous. That good we had to go back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

If this review serves only to improve the ranking I'm happy. Almudin is currently 17th, it should be top 5. Tried many of the recommendations for valencia and this place smashed them ! Cosy place and a truly Spanish experience. Arrived on another busy evening and declared we were happy to wait for a table outside,the owner apologised for our short wait then proceeded to take an indoor table outside for us. That's what I call service. Stunning food , fabulous wine and ultimate hospitality. It's the best place we ate at during our stay in valencia. Numerous other places are a) not out doors & b) non Spanish. 2 advisory points, don't get carried away, the tapas portions are big, don't expect to be outside without a booking. A fabulous place. A whole hearted muchos gracias to the staff !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomaszow Lubelski, Poland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food, professional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great Spanish tapas - seafood, albondigas, croquets, tasty sangria and many other Spanish liquors, wines etc. The staff very friendly and a very nice interior of the restaurant.
Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Stunning!! You must go here to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The meatballs were sublime but the seafood paella was even better! Perfectly cooked and 'crusted' with a beautiful house red wine. No busy streets nearby and a caring attentive owner. If you want real paella you just must eat here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guimaraes, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excelent Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Small and excelent choice restaurant. We was 7, and we asked a paella Valenciana for 3 and other "marisco" for 4 people. The paella is made fresh when you ask for it. It tast very good, the wine is good and we payed, 20€ per head, for 3 bottle of winne, 3 courses (entree, main and dessert) and coffe. the owners are very pleasent. If you go to valencia is a excelent pit stop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almudin also viewed

Valencia, Valencia Province
Valencia, Valencia Province
 
Valencia, Valencia Province
 

Been to Almudin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almudin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.