We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bodeguilla del Gato

La Bodeguilla del Gato
Calle Catalans, 10, 46001 Valencia, Spain (La Seu)
+34 963918235
Improve this listing
Ranked #447 of 2,260 Restaurants in Valencia
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: La Seu
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great tapas place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A great place for Tapas. Yes it appears in lots of guidebooks and so yes, it is busy and you do get tourists in here. However the food was all superb and the service prompt and friendly. Look a little further down the winelist and there are some great bottles on there too.

What La Bodeguilla del Gato manages to offer is genuine atmosphere - yes some corny decor but the staff are all friendly and pleasant, the music convivial and it has a little buzz about it because everyone is having a really good time!

The patatas bravas were probably the best I have ever had - ok a simple dish but got right its a real pleasure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    139
    53
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London,
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

More of a restaurant style tapas bar that a full on restaurant. Great selection of tasty food. Great value. Nice ambience inside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“mamma mia what a tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The start from the waiter was: you see how many italians are here. we have to be v good! Well as an appetizer offered by the house they brought us...peanuts (not a joke). We asked that if they could bring the food for the kids soon: after 1h. Our Tapas were not exceptionals and they were brought one after the other...within just 1:30 hours. The worst was though that i asked if they could bring us a Ribera del Duero since i did not see any in the wine list. Sure... At the end we paid 30 euros for the bottle. And the waiter did not disclose (obviously) that. Terrible.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Tapas We had in Valencia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our tour guide on a Pub Crawl recommended this place and we were not disappointed. Particularly the bull's tail (rabo de toro) which was our personal favourite. The best food we had while in Valencia

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfortville, France
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Tourist attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant may have been great place, but victim of its success, appearing in many tourist guide books... makes it a place where it's hard to find any Spanish customer at all. At least such was the case on Easter week end.
Service was busy but friendly, and they spoke (some) English. I would not say that food was bad, but we found better the days before by just watching where the locals would go.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodeguilla del Gato also viewed

Valencia, Valencia Province
Valencia, Valencia Province
 
Valencia, Valencia Province
Valencia, Valencia Province
 

Been to La Bodeguilla del Gato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bodeguilla del Gato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.