We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Valencia lives up to the high Westin standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Valencia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Valencia to your Saves list
The Westin Valencia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amadeo de Saboya 16, 46010 Valencia, Spain (Formerly Westin Alameda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Westin Valencia lives up to the high Westin standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Westin Valencia sits at the edge of Valencia Old Town along Plaza Del Reial. It's a renovated historic low-story building with rooms all around and a wonderful garden in the middle of the structure. The rooms either look into the garden or have high-walled balconies facing the street - though you don't really see the street since the wall and decorated iron grill above it are quite high. A short walk along Amadeo de Saboya leads you to the Paseo de la Alameda, the main river-side thoroughfare of Valencia. Crossing any of the puentes gets you to the Ciutat Vella or historic centre. So the location is great. And along the huge pedestrian walkway of Alameda Avenue are several outdoor tapas bars and cafes that serve decent food if you're after a quick meal but don't want to do the Westin.

It has a relatively small circular lobby from which you can quickly access the Mediterranean garden which is decorated here and there with huge colourful plastic teddy bears (like oversized gummy bears), the Rosmarino, which is the breakfast place and coffee shop, or the Japanese outlet, or the bar. The concierge sits prominently in the lobby as if asking you to ask something.

The room is large, fully carpeted, with nice bedside tables and lamps plus reading lights. The work desk is fully functional and we appreciated the international TV channels which we've had very little of since we started our Spain tour. We also appreciated the coffee maker. It was also novel that everything in the mini bar was free and they replaced whatever was in the fridge. The walk-in all-mirrored wardrobe cabinet led to the sink and bath area that closed off with a sliding wooden door, and the toilet-bidet was an entirely separate room. Bathroom fixtures are high-quality ceramic and stainless steel while the basin is granite over stainless. The bath is fully enclosed and separate from the tub.

The balcony was great. First it was quite large, with a table and chairs plus a chaise lounge. We didn't do it but I could imagine sunning myself on the lounge or having a drink with friends in the chairs. You even had the option of extending the retractable awning if it rained or if the sun was too much.

Breakfast at the Rosmarino was very good with sufficient variety - veggies had been difficult to come by elsewhere. Coffee was by Nespresso machine which I appreciated.

I was certainly not disappointed with Westin Valencia - it continues to live up to the high Westin standards (Note: I had just stayed in Westin Busan and Westin Seoul a month ago).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your time to write such a detailed and nice review about our property. We hope you'd enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing Starwoodhotels for your trips around the world. We would like to welcome you again in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    248
    61
    23
    22
See reviews for
171
539
47
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We visited the hotel from May 13-16, 2014. I am only now getting around to writing the review. This was for a work function. The hotel is beautiful and in a quiet area of town. After a long delay with our flights, we were exhausted when we arrived at noon.

Our cab was greeted by the most friendly young man, whose name I knew while staying there, but have since completely forgot (sorry!). He proceeded to take our bags and made sure they got to our room. We were crossing our fingers that they would let us have our room so we could shower and relax. Thankfully, our request was granted. The front desk staff were very accommodating and super friendly. They gave us maps, explained to us where everything was located.

We relaxed and made it down to the restaurant, sitting in a beautiful courtyard with a couple of ice cold beverages and had the most delicious gazpacho! We liked it so much that we ordered it at least 2 more times while we stayed there. Hotel food is notoriously bad, but the food at this hotel ranged from good to fantastic (gazpacho). Room service is VERY FAST and the food arrives hot.

Ice-I am one of those people that always needs Ice. There is no ice machines on the floors, but room service will bring up a bucket of ice whenever you ask for it (and believe me, we asked for it a lot). This is at NO charge, nor will they accept a tip! Just fantastic

The room was very spacious with a huge bathroom. The bed was perfect. I just wish I could have one at home. Cleaning staff were friendly, saying good morning/afternoon to you whenever passing you in the hallways and were very thorough.

We spent many hours in the conference rooms. Again, spacious, always refilled each break with water etc. On breaks, outside the rooms, very nice snacks/cakes/deserts/cookies/coffee/tea/juice and water were stocked. Our company also scheduled two lunches on our breaks, and these were very good. Some of us are vegetarians and they lunches really took this into account. The breakfasts are bountiful and quite good, even with champagne if you so choose.

The only negative that I have is one night, the dinner meal was also taken in the hotel (set up in the breakfast hall). A couple of our colleagues requested the vegetarian dinner-which consisted of a small salad and then just grilled vegetables. There was no pasta, no rice, nothing other than vegetables. It was a pretty shabby offering.

Otherwise, everything really was perfect. I cannot comment on the pool. Alas, we were unable to use any of these facilities. The last day, upon checking out, we were having a drink and waiting to call a cab. We had the nicest conversation with the concierge. We spent about 15 minutes chatting with her, just about our trip and if we got a chance to see the city (very little, but its only about a 15 minute walk).

I would not think twice about staying at this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your time to write a review in Tripadvisor. Thanks for all the details you detailed in your comments. We appreciate your nice comments about our property and staff.
We hope you'd have to opportunity to visit us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel is situated 10 minutes walk from the old town of Valencia. On arrival we were greeted with a very helpful receptionist and concierge, both of whom were eager to provide details of how to get into town and also about the facilities in the hotel. The bedroom was of a very high standard with a large bathroom with a shower and bath and also a dressing room. As it was our anniversary the hotel had left us a bottle of champagne and some fruit / small casks which were delicious. In the evening after a walk around the town we decided to dine at the hotel outside in the terraced area, the food was delicious and the service excellent. Breakfast next morning was just as good. TIP we had not booked breakfast when making the reservation but on checkin at the hotel they had a special rate if this was booked at this time. Also if you are travelling by car, there is a car park located under the hotel with discretionary rates for hotel visitors.
I have to say this is a fantastic hotel, we had a fabulous time and will definitely return. If you are reading this and have the opportunity to visit you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom over looking the courtyard / terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Westin Valencia for such a special occassion. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property. Thank you for sharing nice Tips in Tripadvisor. We hope you'd have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

take the metro from the airport. it's very easy: 2 lines leave the airport and they both go to the alameda stop, go up the stairs and cross the street, go right down the gravel pedestrian way and turn left at the next light and you'll see the hotel a short block away.

room was very comfortable and hotel was quiet during my stay. good place to rest during the day and I was able to go back to use to hotel gym and shower before my late flight out of the city. beautiful and interesting hotel. staff was very accommodating and friendly.

easy to get anywhere you'd want to go as a tourist.

I used points and cash to stay here so it was extremely reasonable.

Room Tip: I had a nice view of the courtyard, but the city isn't too loud so I don't think location ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time in writing a review about your stay in The Westin Valencia. Thanks for sharing transportation tips and also positive comments about our location and property. Thank you for being Starwood Preferred Guest Member and share the advantages online!!
Warm Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A very well designed hotel, large comfortable rooms with all the trimmings of a five star hotel. Lovely breakfast room which is set in the garden or overlooking the garden, with a very good selection of food. Great location, within walking distance to town and main attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your time in posting a review in Tripadvisor about your stay at The Westin Valencia. Thank you for your positive comments about our breakfast, garden and location.
Looking forward to meet you again during your next stay.
Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Westin Valencia is a beautiful-looking hotel, which we booked at a very reasonable price, via Voyage Prive. As already mentioned by other guests, the rooms are very large and very comfortable, and certainly meet the ''luxury' status given to them.

From the moment we pulled up outside in the taxi, staff looked after us - starting with Cecil (apologies if that's not how your name is spelled) who took care of our cases and who deserves special mention because he hunted high and low to provide us with some English Breakfast tea when supplies ran out. The young man on the Concierge desk took his time to take us through all of the best places to visit in Valencia and gave us several tips on how to save ourselves money (transport costs and options for example). And the restaurant manager gave us names of some restaurants to check out.

Two minor gripes though:

1) the hotel is a little off the 'beaten track', which gave us some challenges when trying to find a restaurant in the evening without having to trek into town (20 mins walk). Tip: get the hotel to make you a reservation at a place they recommend

2) The hotel has two restaurants, and we ate in both. The Japanese one is first class (although tad expensive at 50€ a head plus drinks for the set meal), but the 'regular' one has way too few choices on its menu.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very constructive and positive feedback. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay despite of the small minuses mentioned. Thanking you again for the time taken and your contribution in making our hotel even better. Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Best regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stay here regularly on our way home by land from Costa Blanca. It is the perfect overnight stay combining cool calm international comfort and Spanish service of the highest quality Heavenly beds are immaculate and so comfortable.
A short walk across the puente del flores takes you straight into the town where there are excellent restaurants and high end shops. A bit pricey but worth it.
My only reason for not giving this hotel an excellent rating is that free Wifi is only in the hotel lobby and not free in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review in Tripadvisor about The Westin Valencia. Thank you for choosing us every time you come to Valencia. We are glad to read that you could relax in our heavenly beds and thank you for your nice tips about our location.
Looking forward to welcome you again during your next stay.
Kind Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Valencia

Address: Amadeo de Saboya 16, 46010 Valencia, Spain (Formerly Westin Alameda)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Valencia
#1 Family Hotel in Valencia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
#3 Business Hotel in Valencia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Valencia 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the exclusive The Westin Valencia, 5* G.L. Located in the city center in an impressive historic building, it is the ideal choice to discover the city and enjoy a exquisite atmosphere. It offers 135 confortable rooms and suites, with Westin Heavenly Beds, restaurants, meeting rooms, bars, wellness center and Mediterranean gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Valencia Hotel Valencia
Westin Valencia
Valencia Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Valencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.