We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nights sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Valencia

Save Saved
You added The Westin Valencia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Valencia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amadeo de Saboya 16, 46010 Valencia, Spain (Formerly Westin Alameda)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 99 hotels in Valencia
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great nights sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Was only here for a night stay and I love the grand entrance to the foyer, beautiful room, with substantial breakfast choices, in a nice setting. I would love to come back to explore more of this hotel´s facility when I have more time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your time to post a comment in Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel.
Looking forward to meet you during your next stay.
Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    598
    212
    55
    20
    22
See reviews for
149
482
43
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had three pleasant nights here, though I suspect the discounted rate made the experience more palatable. The room was a good size with a small terrace which we barely used due to the noisy roadworks and disappointingly uncomfortable outdoor furniture. This is an issue if you hope to sit out after a busy day sightseeing as there is nowhere else to do so other than the garden bar area which is fairly formal. The pool is indoors and very pleasant and well run, but you must use a swim cap. We liked the location in a residential neighbourhood and very close to Aragon and Almeda stations and about 200m from the Mestalla stadium. It took around 20 minutes to walk to the cathedral, most of which was the time taken to cross roads! There are numerous local bars and restaurants and we ate once in the hotel which was pretty good. All the staff we met were attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and hope you accept our sincere apologies for any adversities you encountered.
Thanks for your comments and we would like to welcome you again at our property.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is very nice. That is easy to tell when you walk up and see the property. The rooms are what you would expect from a Westin. Breakfast in the hotel is good, but nothing amazing. If you have status and get a free breakfast, you can't order from the menu like other hotels and it isn't the biggest buffet, but it is good.

That said, we felt the location was not the best. It was at least a 10-15 minute walk from any restaurant and about a 20 minute walk to the old city. The good news is that you can take the subway/train from the airport to the hotel and it is very easy with only a 5 minute walk from the train station to the hotel (There are a lot of steps up though, so if you have a heavy suitcase, know there are 20-30 steps out of the stations and out of the park)

The staff though was very frustrating. We received incorrect information twice, and when we asked who the concierge was, they said there wasn't, they all shared the responsibility. That is an annoying answer when you are told the wrong time for a bus to El Saler (a great beach 20-30 minutes out of town) and the wrong opening times for restaurants. I would have hoped the hotel would have at least check these bits of information before sending out to the city with the wrong times. For the restaurant, they could have easily called to confirm, but, instead, they directed us there only to find we didn't have time to eat there because we had a night train.

All in all, this is a very nice hotel, but, for the price, the service, and for the location, this is just average place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comments. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have found during your stay regarding the concierge service.
Thanking you again for the time taken and your contribution in making our hotel even better.
Kind Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

To stay here was a delight,, they say its only 4 star but wow... our room was beautiful - however we had to be moved from it due to a bad smell on our last night, but staff where so helpful.
We did treat ourselves to a massage and i must say my friend refused to pay for hers due to the lady not careing and yawning constantly and having an ipod in... The spa is not run by the westin, so all they could do is not our complaint.
food in the hotel was great - we had breakfast included. the hotel is located out of town, but a nice walk or cab drive.
Pool - was indoor one and how funny you had to wear a swimming hat..
Would definately recommend this hotel to any one... i found it fantastic value for money compared to my other hotels i stayed in in spain...

Room Tip: All rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel at Tripadvisor. We were sorry to learn that the spa did not meet your expectations.
On a more positive note, we were pleased to learn that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us.
We hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Westin Valencia in the future.
Best regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place is not cheap but it is a truly beautiful hotel. The rooms are a good size and tastefully decorated. The service is excellent. What really makes this place is the open central courtyard where you can sit outside in the shade on a hot summer's day. The restaurant is excellent too with a bargain menu of the day that includes a half bottle of wine.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to meet you soon in your next stay.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here on 5 separate occasions and always enjoyed it (even sat next to Sir Bobby Charlton once in the restaurant...star struck!!... anyway that was 2 years ago)
This time booked a 3 day break but left after 1
We had 3 rooms in the 1 day
Room 1 carpet was soaking wet... would have got trench foot if we had tried to stay in that so they moved us to...
Room 2, sited next to road works with a booming pneumatic drill outside the window ( and they said at reception it was a relaxing room...only if I was deaf...and would have been if I had stayed in it...so...
Room 3, a narrow corridor of a room with faulty air con
With temperatures outside a very sticky 37c we decided to cut our losses and leave.
After a very average breakfast, for this hotel we left with the Receptionist saying we should be given a credit for the 2 nights we lost.
Tried to claim them when we got home and were given the Spanish Archer! (El Bow)
Great experiences in the past don't make up for a poor time on this occasion, even good hotels have off days
Shame!
The ratings I give are based on this one experience, not the others which we really enjoyed

Room Tip: Have better luck than me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Westin Valencia during your time in the city.
We apologies for the inconveniences caused. We truly regret that despite our efforts during your stay, we were unable to achieve your satisfaction. Once again we would like to thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and hope you accept our sincere apologies. I hope that we have the opportunity to meet in a near future if your travels ever brings you back to Valencia.
Sincerely,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great hotel if you book through a website that gives you a good price, its a nice hotel,and a good location to explore the city but the service and rooms were 4 star (which is fine once you don't pay 5 star prices!).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay despite of the small minuses mentioned. Thanking you again for the time taken and your contribution in making our hotel even better. Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Valencia

Address: Amadeo de Saboya 16, 46010 Valencia, Spain (Formerly Westin Alameda)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Valencia
#2 Business Hotel in Valencia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
#3 Family Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Valencia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the exclusive The Westin Valencia, 5* G.L. Located in the city center in an impressive historic building, it is the ideal choice to discover the city and enjoy a exquisite atmosphere. It offers 135 confortable rooms and suites, with Westin Heavenly Beds, restaurants, meeting rooms, bars, wellness center and Mediterranean gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Valencia Hotel Valencia
Westin Valencia
Valencia Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Valencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.