We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Valencia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Valencia to your Saves list
The Westin Valencia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amadeo de Saboya 16, 46010 Valencia, Spain (Formerly Westin Alameda)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Camden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

To stay here was a delight,, they say its only 4 star but wow... our room was beautiful - however we had to be moved from it due to a bad smell on our last night, but staff where so helpful.
We did treat ourselves to a massage and i must say my friend refused to pay for hers due to the lady not careing and yawning constantly and having an ipod in... The spa is not run by the westin, so all they could do is not our complaint.
food in the hotel was great - we had breakfast included. the hotel is located out of town, but a nice walk or cab drive.
Pool - was indoor one and how funny you had to wear a swimming hat..
Would definately recommend this hotel to any one... i found it fantastic value for money compared to my other hotels i stayed in in spain...

Room Tip: All rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel at Tripadvisor. We were sorry to learn that the spa did not meet your expectations.
On a more positive note, we were pleased to learn that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us.
We hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Westin Valencia in the future.
Best regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    239
    60
    23
    22
See reviews for
163
520
47
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place is not cheap but it is a truly beautiful hotel. The rooms are a good size and tastefully decorated. The service is excellent. What really makes this place is the open central courtyard where you can sit outside in the shade on a hot summer's day. The restaurant is excellent too with a bargain menu of the day that includes a half bottle of wine.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to meet you soon in your next stay.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here on 5 separate occasions and always enjoyed it (even sat next to Sir Bobby Charlton once in the restaurant...star struck!!... anyway that was 2 years ago)
This time booked a 3 day break but left after 1
We had 3 rooms in the 1 day
Room 1 carpet was soaking wet... would have got trench foot if we had tried to stay in that so they moved us to...
Room 2, sited next to road works with a booming pneumatic drill outside the window ( and they said at reception it was a relaxing room...only if I was deaf...and would have been if I had stayed in it...so...
Room 3, a narrow corridor of a room with faulty air con
With temperatures outside a very sticky 37c we decided to cut our losses and leave.
After a very average breakfast, for this hotel we left with the Receptionist saying we should be given a credit for the 2 nights we lost.
Tried to claim them when we got home and were given the Spanish Archer! (El Bow)
Great experiences in the past don't make up for a poor time on this occasion, even good hotels have off days
Shame!
The ratings I give are based on this one experience, not the others which we really enjoyed

Room Tip: Have better luck than me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Westin Valencia during your time in the city.
We apologies for the inconveniences caused. We truly regret that despite our efforts during your stay, we were unable to achieve your satisfaction. Once again we would like to thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and hope you accept our sincere apologies. I hope that we have the opportunity to meet in a near future if your travels ever brings you back to Valencia.
Sincerely,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great hotel if you book through a website that gives you a good price, its a nice hotel,and a good location to explore the city but the service and rooms were 4 star (which is fine once you don't pay 5 star prices!).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay despite of the small minuses mentioned. Thanking you again for the time taken and your contribution in making our hotel even better. Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I cannot praise it enough it was fabulous.
Firstly location - just outside the metro - 5 min walk and also just on the rim of the city centre so away from the noise but 5 minutes from the action.
Reception and concierge - very helpful, professional and polite.
Rooms - large and well appointed with high ceilings, abundant supply of toiletries. Nice terrace with my room.
Gym, sauna,steam - above par for a hotel - seemed like a professional training environment and not a small poky room like most hotels.So was very good.
Restaurant and breakfast - exceptional service, courteous and helpful
Bar - made to order food as we have some dietary restrictions- great bar to choose from.
Overall very nice and i would definitely stay there.
Remember that in Spain a swimming cap is a must so either carry yours or buy at the hotel.
The only crib I have is they charged for internet - normally free in top end hotels. Lobby internet was free but inconvenient.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to write your comments about your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our property. We hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Westin Valencia in the future.
Best regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A stunning hotel converted from an old textile factory. The hotel courtyard is beautiful and is a great place to chill out on a hot summer day. The gym and pool are also nice enough to relax in after a day of sightseeing. Service was great and very professional.

We got a great deal from lastminute.com and only paid half the normal rate for our 3 nights' stay. Food and drinks are expensive compared to the rest of the city (cheap when compared to other 5-star hotels in the top European cities) but overall, the hotel is very good value for money.

Location-wise, it is about a 15 minutes walk to the old town, which we did not mind at all.

Will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Valencia in the future.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are peaceful and quiet. Worth joining SPG for room upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in commenting your experience at The Westin Valencia. It's great to read that your stay was memorable thanks to our service.
Hope to see you again soon in Valencia.
Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Westin Valencia is a beautiful hotel with wonderful, friendly service. Unfortunately I think being part of such a large worldwide chain actually hinders them. We stayed in Spain for 3 weeks prior to staying at the Westin and every hotel we had stayed at let us check in early with no problems. When we got to the Westin, they told us that our room was not ready, even though we were only one hour early (Check in is at 3pm). So we had to leave and come back an hour later. Also, after travelling Spain for 3 weeks and staying in 10 different hotels, it was surprising that the Westin Valencia does not offer free wireless internet in the rooms, something that every hotel on our trip had offered. This is something that should be standard these days, especially at such an expensive hotel as the Westin. After paying so much for a night, it seems like the hotel is swindling you by charging 5 Euro an hour for wireless internet.
We did eat dinner in the hotel’s restaurant (Rosmarino) which was actually very good and we were able to eat in the beautiful courtyard, complete with lighted trees, fountain and live music. The service in the restaurant was very good.
Overall the hotel is beautiful, though not centrally located. It is about a 30 minute walk to the main shopping streets and even more to the City of Arts and Sciences or the beach. The hotel recommended a taxi to those sights.
I would recommend the hotel if you are looking for a fabulous place to stay and don’t mind taking a taxi to the main sights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinValencia, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Valencia, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to write your comments about your last year stay at The Westin Valencia. We were sorry to learn of your concerns regarding the check in time. We can always check in before that time if we have the rooms ready. On a more positive note, we were pleased to learn that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us. We hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again in Valencia.
Kind Regards,
Claudia Villasboa
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Valencia

Address: Amadeo de Saboya 16, 46010 Valencia, Spain (Formerly Westin Alameda)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Valencia
#3 Family Hotel in Valencia
#3 Business Hotel in Valencia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Valencia 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the exclusive The Westin Valencia, 5* G.L. Located in the city center in an impressive historic building, it is the ideal choice to discover the city and enjoy a exquisite atmosphere. It offers 135 confortable rooms and suites, with Westin Heavenly Beds, restaurants, meeting rooms, bars, wellness center and Mediterranean gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Valencia Hotel Valencia
Westin Valencia
Valencia Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Valencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.