We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hemisferic

L'Hemisferic
Av Autopista del Saler 1, 3, 5, 7 | Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias, 46013 Valencia, Spain
34 902 100031
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$19*
and up
Valencia Walking Tour
Ranked #68 of 139 Attractions in Valencia
Type: Observatories/ Planetariums, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Disliked the fact that the name made it sound grand but it is just a cinema. Liked the outside of the building.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    48
    41
    25
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
147 attraction reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Part of Valencia's City of Arts and Sciences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This building is meant to resemble a giant eye. It houses a planetarium and is the centerpiece of the City of Arts and Sciences.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“worth a visit for the building alone, Falla film fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

What’s shaped like a huge eye from the outside is also worth a visit on the inside. We enjoyed a typical and delicious fresh horchata and a tasty bocadillo in the bright airy café before getting in line to receive the headsets.

There’s a selection of 3-D movies for all tastes as others have mentioned. We certainly can’t confirm the complaints mentioned here. We had no problem with the English on our headset, and there was no overlapping with the Spanish original. And we found the documentary on the Valencian fallas intriguing: The History of a Falla gives a fascinating look at a unique celebration with interviews and breathtaking cinematography. We now understand much more about this festivity of sound and fire and music. What better place to learn more about the fallas than in Valencia!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“OK to kill some time on sunday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We loved the Photos of this place so thought we might as well buy the combination tickets for all 3 places: L'hemisferic, Museum of science and the oceanografic. We started with the L'hemisferic and went to check which shows the have at what time. We choose the one about the Last Reef. Once in you get a headband type of earphones and we sat down Somewhere in the middle. The headband was bugging me the Whole time cos it is heavy. Weighing down on my head. Also the speaker wasn't loud enough to bridge the distance to my ears. Could just be my bad hearing. Also it wasn't really easy to switch it To english, by the time that you've succeeded you would have missed the first few minutes. during the movie the english narration kept stopping mid sentence while I heard from the people next To me that theirs did continue (was different language), so i am wondering whether the english version was good enough To start with... It's OK To pass some time on sunday when most things are closed. However, it's not worth the Full price of 8,80€ for a 45min movie.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Attractive buildings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Since the tickets were expensive for us, we just took some photos in front of the L'Hemisferic. But we were happy to see L'Hemisferic and the other buildings in the city of the arts and science. This city was built after the river changed its road after the earthquake. Such an impressive location in Valencia and should be seen.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hemisferic also viewed

 
Valencia, Valencia Province
Valencia, Valencia Province
 

Been to L'Hemisferic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hemisferic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.