We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mediterraneo to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterraneo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Baron de Carcer 45, 46001 Valencia, Spain (Sant Francesc)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent location, no need for taxi from train station within easy walk. Reception staff very helpful. Rooms a bit small but served there purpose, wi-fi really hard to log into like using dial up very slow. Thin walls can hear everything in next room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    235
    64
    13
    4
See reviews for
50
195
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Average hotel with very small and uncomfortable rooms. Overpriced parking. Views from the windows to a small dirty and dark yard. The boy from the reception desk refused to provide us with a double room, because "the hotel is full, now we have only twin rooms and I will try to find a double room for you tomorrow". Next day his colleague told us it's impossible because I didn't specify that I need a double room in my booking. OK.
Sleeping quality was awful because of the noise coming easy from the hall and from the next room. Got up too early because of loud sounds of walkie-talkie of room cleaning staff. Once in the evening I heard clearly every word of conversation of my neighbors, I knew they listened to Sade hits, how long did it take to them to have sex and how many times the guy clapped his girl's bottom. Hope, guys, you had a nice time. But I advice everybody to avoid this hotel if you travel as a couple :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GestionMediterraneo, Propietario at Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, allow me to sincerely apologise for the inconveniences experienced during your stay at our hotel.
I do regret not having been able to offer you a double room as requested during your stay due to the high occupancy experienced during those days. We do our best to allocate double or twin rooms upon request during the booking process, but our limited room stock makes it sometimes impossible to fulfill every guest request.
We are aware that certain rooms haven´t got a good sound proofing, but I´d like to inform you that we just completed a full refurbishment of one of our floors, where we have completely revamp not just the looks of the bedroom but have also paid special attention in ensuring that noise from other rooms do not disturb other guest.
We also do have, as you mention, a couple of rooms per floor that do not look into the street, and we do try to assign these rooms as a last option, but again, due to high occupancy those days, we were unable to provide a room with a better view.
I deeply regret your dissapointment with our hotel, and would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day to demonstrate that we actually have a property that even small, provides a comfortable and welcoming stay for our guests.
My sincere apologies,
Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located, close to the station and the central area of Valencia. So, it's an easy walk to the main square and the commercial area. There are numerous cafes and restaurants to choose from near the hotel. We found Moltto in No 9 Plaza de la Beina, good, particularly for lunch. The room we had was clean, beds comfortable and heating good. The only draw back was lack of accessibility to Wifi, we had to be in the reception area. The hotel did accept the Aussie MasterCard Travel card which was pleasing. The price was certainly reasonable.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in November 2012.

+

very good location.not far from the train station and at the same time in the central part of the city

good price

rooms are big



-

wi fi was not working in our room.connected to the net but could not load even google

the bed linen was quiet worn out.the bed cover was not clean and smelling.

rooms clearly need renovation



we did not try breakfast there.as there are many coffee shops near by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GestionMediterraneo, Owner at Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our hotel.
I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced trying to access our free internet service and I would like to assure you that we would be looking into this connectivity issue to ensure that all our guests can access internet for free as promised.
I would also like to inform you that we have already started a full refurbishment of our bedrooms, which will be followed up by a refurbishment of the breakfast area as well as the reception area. We hope this will help our guests to have an even more enjoyable experience at our hotel as well as Valencia and provide an even greater value for money.
I really hope that we can welcome you again to our hotel in the future so that you can enjoy our newly updated bedrooms and once again apologies for the issues encountered with our internet service.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice and clean, with plenty of places to have breakfast nearby. Not far from the station (Valenica North). Friendly and helpful staff. Recommended. Why do I need to say 200 words when the number I have said covers it all very well?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

City centre hotel, ideally located for wandering around the city. Rooms small but comfortable and fairly quiet. Breakfast poor and overpriced, lots of other options available in area, Clean, bathroom up to date, but bedrooms could do with a little updating. However don't let this put you off, good value for money for central location. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Located in a relatively quiet street in the Valencia city centre. Great location for visiting the beautiful city of Valencia. Receptionists spoke English. Rooms are spacious, great shower and a comfortable bed. All that for a reasonable price (I thought it was €68,- a night) made this into a pleasant stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Avenida Baron de Carcer 45, 46001 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable comfort right in the city centre of ValenciaThe Hotel Mediterraneo is a comfortable hotel located in the city centre of Valencia next to the Plaza del Ayuntamiento (Town Hall Square), the main train station (Estacion del Norte), Mercado central, Palacio de la Lonja, the cathedral and a few minutes away from the Barrio del Carmen, one of the cultural and historical zones, as well as 10 min. walk away from the main commercial and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.