We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price, dark noisy room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mediterraneo to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterraneo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Baron de Carcer 45, 46001 Valencia, Spain (Sant Francesc)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, good price, dark noisy room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My 22yo son booked this hotel as a 50th birthday treat for me and him.The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the city, being within an easy walk of most attractions. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel - as another reviewer has said, there are plenty of little cafes around to sit out and watch the city come to life while you drink your cafe con leche and munch on whatever takes your fancy.(For the gluten-free out there, there's a lovely little panaderia, just across the pont de fusta, that does wonderful gluten-free (and lactose-free) madalenas that are delicious dunked in a latte or choco caliente). Our room was at the back of the hotel, with absolutely no view whatsover and very little natural light. As a result the lights had to be on whenever we were in the room. There was a disagreeable smell coming up the void outside the room so the bathroom window had to be shut whenever the bathroom was not in use; we kept both windows shut (relying on air con) to deal with this issue and to reduce the noise coming from the lift. The first night, we were made aware of the thin walls as we were kept awake by overly-noisy, ardent neighbours. My son, conscious that this was potentially marring my birthday treat, did ask to change rooms on our first day but was told that the hotel was full and that we were in one of the quietest rooms. But: it didn't ruin our trip, the room was otherwise clean and tidy, with everything working and good housekeeping and reception staff. It is very handy for Xativa metro station (about 25 minutes direct to/from the airport - really easy transfer and currently 3euros) and a 10-15 minute walk to Plaza de la Reina for the bus turistica. There's very little night-life on the doorstep but it's easy to reach on foot or in a cab - we walked home very late at night and didn't feel threatened or vulnerable. Despite all the issues, if you're looking for a clean, central, hotel that is reasonable priced, I'd recommend the Mediterraneo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    234
    62
    13
    4
See reviews for
49
194
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ABDNSHIRE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Great hotel to go to,food,room,drinks all great.Only one bad point entertainment is poor.Staff all friendly.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 1st floor with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Mediterraneo is very near to the train station and it is in a very good location to go wherever you want in the city!!
We got a perfect night there: good sheets, bed, pillows, shower, clean ... all that we need!!
The night that we stayed they got a problem with the internet but the staff allowed us to use in the reception.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The Hotel Mediterraneo in Valencia is really well located in the middle of the Old City within easy walking distance of the Bull Ring and Cathedral. It has a Breakfast room which is light and airy and has good views. The rooms although basic had hot showers , comfortable beds , linen cleaned daily and free safes. The mini bars were well stocked and the twin rooms had just enough storage. There was a 14 inch flat screen TV and I would say overall great for a weekend break. Valencia itself is a great city and comes to life at about 10 o'clock at night with mostly local people in April (not many tourists). There is a brilliant modern park just outside the town and the beach is massive and full of great sand.The room we had had fairly thin walls but luckily everyone on the floor was reasonably quiet.

Room Tip: There are rooms which face an inner grot courtyard, fine if only using the room as a stop over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Liked central location very much and window in the bathroom. Unfortunately walls in the room are too thin, so you can hear everything in near room

Room Tip: don't take room 204, walls are too thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at the Mediterraneo for 2 nights in January 2012. The room was surprisingly spacious, with a good sized bathroom. It was clean and tidy. The heating worked well to warm up the room. The hotel is in a convenient location, being a short 5-10 minute walk from both the train station and cathedral in the historic town centre and passing several nice looking restaurants along the way. However there didn't appear to be any convenience stores or supermarkets nearby to the hotel.

The front desk staff were nice and helpful giving us directions and information about the trains, despite one of them not knowing much English. They were happy for leave us to leave our luggage with them after we checked out to save us from carrying it around for the rest of the day. We didn't choose to have breakfast at this hotel but I am unsure if they offered breakfast anyway as there didn't seem to be anyone around in the dining area in the morning. Had a pleasant stay here and was happy with the price I paid. I would stay here again and would recommend others stay here.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

What can I say? This hotel had an excellent location, very close to the railway station, carrer del barmen (i think it's called that), placa de torro etc. Really friendly staff, swift check-in, however you'll have to park at the railway station if you have a car taller than 2 metres (which we did). I would recommend this hotel for any group of friends looking to visit Valencia. The nightlife was great, especially a club called Fox Congo .. however, we then went to a club called Music Box, which was full of creeps. I'd avoid that one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Avenida Baron de Carcer 45, 46001 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable comfort right in the city centre of ValenciaThe Hotel Mediterraneo is a comfortable hotel located in the city centre of Valencia next to the Plaza del Ayuntamiento (Town Hall Square), the main train station (Estacion del Norte), Mercado central, Palacio de la Lonja, the cathedral and a few minutes away from the Barrio del Carmen, one of the cultural and historical zones, as well as 10 min. walk away from the main commercial and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.