We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A view of our Lodge Santa Maria
A view of our Lodge Santa Maria
A view of our Lodge Santa Maria
view from a lodge
lodges Pinta and Santa Maria at the House on the Hill
Pool and Sun Terrace
Pool and Sun Terrace
Valencia
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jenwad10
1 review
“A secluded & beautiful spanish adventure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

On arrival at the lodge it was rather late and an unexpected welcome pack was a lovely surprise. The lodge itself was clean and tidy and we were able to get our 2 very small children straight to bed with no problems. We awoke to beautiful sunshine and this was the start of our gloriously hot holiday! The pool area was fabulous, clean, fully equipped, with lots of space and a brilliant paella stove in the outdoor kitchen which we used on a few occasions during our stay. There is also an outside utility with toilet and washing machine which is handy. We were very well looked after during our stay by Jill & Mick who were on the end of the phone should we need anything and to help when we got lost!! They also visited the lodge with clean bedding and towels. The only thing we would change about the lodge is the size of the fridge and lack of oven. Because we had 2 babies we tended to stay at the lodge in the evening and cook so could have done with a bigger fridge/freezer and a cooker. However the outside kitchen did have 2 BBQ's and the paella stove so we found them very useful.
The location of the lodge was lovely and secluded, one piece of advice would be to ensure you know some basic Spanish! The locals are all very friendly and welcoming. The nearby supermarket has everything you could need and all very cheap. We got some really lovely bottles of Rioja for only €2.50!
All in all we had a lovely holiday at the house on the hill and would recommend it to anyone looking for a traditional Spanish holiday in a rural location surrounded by beautiful wildlife. There are deer, peacocks, beautiful birds, red squirrels and lots of lizards!
Thank you for having us!
*We visited the house on the hill in july when the weather was very hot (40 degrees in the day/30 at night)

5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
The_Dude...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Brilliant Rental Property in a Beautiful Part of Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How cool & unique was our stay at the 'House on The Hill' near the market town of Xatvia - our own scandanivian style log cabin, the spanish sun, a lovely pool (and pool bar) not too mention all within striking distance of the major players of Valencia and Barcelona.

Prior to our trip Colin & Mandy (the owners) emailed us a very useful and detailed dossier on the local area. This included directions from Valencia airport, what to see and do in the local area, popular attractions with opening times, prices and suggested places of interest. It was great to have this info as it felt like you where getting the inside track of local knowledge meaning you can maximise your time effectively and see/do all the best things. We even managed to get to the locally bakery as suggested for the special cake day which we would never have known about. Communication is an important part of booking any holiday and Colin & Mandy excelled at this.

Our log cabin was really nice and had everything you require to have a great self catering break. The wood has a really nice smell and it was totally unique to be staying in a property like this in Spain. We especially loved the free DVD selection and thought it was a great touch. Every room in the cabin was spacious, comfortable, clean and extra bedding was supplied which was good. Set in amongst orange groves and a short walk to the pool it was the perfect place to get away from it all, reading books by the pool and sun bathing.

Xatvia was a short distance away, best known for the castle perched high over the town. We dined out in Xatvia most evenings and there seemed to be a great choice (thanks again to the dossier for the top picks and rough pricing). We had a hire car and drove to some other local towns on market day as well as the beach. The train to Valencia is only 10mins drive from the log cabins and takes only 45mins. Cheap too!

All in all I would fully recommend staying here - great owners, the perfect place to get away from it all and lie in the famous Spanish sun and we would defiantly return.

Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Cheers!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The pool area was amazing
Liked least: Having to go home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Melanie48...
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fabulous holiday in an ideal surrounding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We arrived quite late in the evening and was given a very warm welcome. The cabin had a welcome pack which had bread, milk, bacon and tea/coffee and this was a real treat as we had travelled late. The cabin was clean to a very high standard and everything was there in place. A spacious outlay throughout with a beautiful view of the orange groves and mountains. The pool area and pool bar was again spotless and very inviting and we enjoyed spending time together there as a family. There are lots of places to visit and the castle in Xativa is a must. We will be returning in the near future.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and surroundings
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
dorothy s
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“a great easter stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed over easter and had a lovely time. We had good weather in the day and the lodge was cosy and warm with the heating in the evening.
The accomodation had everything we needed and was in a great location, very peaceful but really close to the village for shopping and bars. We liked that we could walk and didnt need to drive everywhere. Xativa was a really interesting town and we visitied Valencia by train.
We also had a day at the beach in Gandia - we ate at one of the beach bars when it was snowing in the UK.
We like to walk and enjoyed the walk around the black caves as recommended by Colin and Mandy the owners.
Will be coming back in the summer to enjoy the pool!!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views of the orange groves.
Liked least: nothing really it exceeded our expectations
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
EstherH19...
Oviedo, Spain
1 review
“Un entorno genial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation

Hemos estado diez días alojados en la casa de la colina, son dos casas de madera y estabamos solos. La casa cuenta con una piscina con zona de barbacoa y pudimos tenerla para nosotros solos, todo un lujo.
El entorno es precioso, incluso en la finca de al lado hay ciervos y pavos reales.
disfrutamos mucho de la piscina.
Lo malo el calor en el interior, hay ventiladores pero el calor de noche es a veces insoportable.
El interior de la casa normal, equipado con todo eso si.
Nos recibió Mick que es amigo de Collin (el dueño) y nos pareció una persona encantadora y dispuesta a ayudar.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: La piscina
Liked least: El calor y las telas de araña...
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$65
/
Night
Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
colin k
Speaks English, Spanish
Listed since : Mar 2013
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 7 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing