We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Navarro Reverter 14 - 16, 46004 Valencia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“5 star staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Excellent location with easy walking into the old town and also to the City of Arts and Science. First impressions of the hotel as you walk into the foyer are that it is definitely 5 star and staff are without doubt the same. Unfortunately other parts of the hotel are in definite need of refurbishment. The toilets by reception were not of the same standard with scuff marks up the walls and doors and looked like they were in need of fresh paint. The same could be said of all the wooden doors in our room which were quite scratched and scuffed. Saying that the room was clean, nicely laid out and worked well. The hotel should be thankful to it's superb staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your very constructive and positive feedback. We are happy to read that you found our staff superb and that you have enjoyed your stay, we do regret that in certain points we did not meet your expectations. This will help us to improve consistently in order to achieve the maximum guest´s satisfaction.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    215
    77
    30
    13
See reviews for
77
395
24
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was the second stay at Hospes in Valencia. The location is really good, walking distance from the old town, shopping area, good bars and restaurants, but very peaceful at the same time. The reception service was very good, from the reservation time to the time we were in the hotel. Also, very rich breakfast. The disappointment came from the big difference vs 4 years ago, when I was so excited with this finding. Last year, the quality of the rooms and the courtyard area decreased a lot, both need a big revamp, as it is now the hotel is no longer a 5 star hotel, which is a pity since it's such a great location, building and with very good service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear guest

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is the ideal starting point to discover Valencia, almost all the important sights are in walking distance.

We would like to confirm that our garden will be soon completely renovated and we are sure our guest will adore it.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here for five nights in a suite. If you can get it, room 504 is the best suite. We looked at another on the 4th floor and refused the room.
The staff are extremely helpful. The location is outstanding for seeing the sights. Don't stay by the beach. All the sights are in the old town. Visit the beach but stay in the old town.

Massage and facials were good but very expensive, even for a 5 star hotel. €150 for a 50 minute massage seemed excessive.

We didn't eat in the hotel as we didn't want to pay €22 each for breakfast. Instead turn left out of the hotel and there is a modern panarea cafe 200m away. Breakfast and coffee came to €8 for two.

Valencia is one of the most beautiful cities we have ever been to. This hotel, and we saw the location of the other good ones, is the best location for seeing the sights in the old town.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest
We are thankful that you took the time to share your experience with us. Our team appreciates your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Booked a four night stay in Valencia as part of a Flight/Accommodation deal. Easy transfer by Metro from airport, short walk to hotel and booked in by friendly and helpful staff. Entrance/lobby/ground floor/courtyard all very impressive. Unfortunately cant say the same for the rooms. Dreamer room -not sure what this means?- small and adequate. Good shower but no bath. No tea/coffee making facilities. Not really what you expect from a 5 star hotel. Dark corridors in need of a spruce up on the 4th floor. Looked out over courtyard but surrounded by blocks of apartments/old buildings. Breakfast included but help yourself, don't wait. Spa and fitness area lovely if you have time. Great location, easy walk to metro/bus to get to port and beach and close to the "Old Quarter" for evening drinks/meals/shops. Valencia a "must do" as its a beautiful
city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath as these appeared larger. Back of building looks out over other backs of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest
Many thanks for your comments and thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Valencia.
We are working and making new investments to improve our facilities. The hotel has different rooms and depending on the necessity of the client we try to allocate the best room to full fill their experience with us. Our hotel is in the city center and surrounded by classic buildings. We hope to welcome you again and full fill your expectations.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed 3 nights recently in May. And on our last morning, since we were leaving early, the staff was so nice as to have our breakfast ready even before the breakfast room was open. We had our mini breakfast by the lounge near the concierge area. It was wonderful.
Our room with a mini balcony was excellent. The hotel is walking distance to excellent shopping and dining. I would recommend this hotel for traveler going to Valencia.

Judy Ang

Room Tip: Our room was on the sixth floor. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director de Recepción at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your good feedback.
Your complete review about our staff friendless and location will certainly help many future guests to make the right decision when booking their hotel for the stay in our city.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I just got back from a 5 night stay at this hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful and in a great location (walking distance to pretty much everything). The rooms are large and clean. We had a large window that opened onto the courtyard area below. Bathroom has a large tub/shower combo and a separate bathroom for toilet and shower. The breakfast at the hotel is extensive and delicious. If you book through the front desk for the entire length of your stay, it is about 10 Euro less than if you pay each day through the restaurant. The staff, however, is what truly made our stay incredible. Luis is absolutely phenomenal. He gave great recommendations on places to eat, things to do, and was very accommodating to any other questions or help that was needed. He ensured we had dinner reservations whenever needed and arranged our taxis for the airport in the morning (he even made sure my friend woke up for her very early flight so she didn't miss it). He also arranged for us to go to get the BEST paella I have ever had. One night when I wasn't feeling well and my friend was down having a glass of wine at the bar, she told Luis that I was in the room feeling ill. He took it upon himself to send me up chamomile tea. He is the #1 reason why I would return to this hotel. Lorentiu was another staff member that was fantastic. He also gave some great recommendations for lunch and activities. He helped us with a car rental to head to some beaches that were on the southern end of Valencia and gave great recommendations. If you stay at this hotel you will be WELL taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your staying at Hospes Palau de la Mar and for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow TripAdvisor travelers.

We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our installations as much as our kind and attentive service. Our goal is to help create an exciting and unforgettable experience to each one of our guests, making them feel comfortable and happy while with us. I will pass your comments to my team, I am sure they will be very happy.

It will be of our great pleasure to welcome you back next time you are in Valencia, so please do not hesitate to contact us in advance.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We recently were lucky enough to stay in the Presidential Suite at this hotel. It did not disappoint, staff are friendly and efficient. The location was ideal for us close to the independent retailers and market, A short taxi ride from the beach and marina. Perfect getaway. Valencia reminded us of a bit of Paris, with a Amsterdam vibe with its unique friendliness

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your kind review. It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoy your stay in Valencia.
We appreciate your comments concerning our location and rooms and we are very pleased to know your opinion about our staff.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for further information in your next visit to Valencia.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel

Address: Navarro Reverter 14 - 16, 46004 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Escapio, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.