We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For me it was all about Mattheijs and Dany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valencia Mindfulness Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valencia Mindfulness Retreat
Save
You added Valencia Mindfulness Retreat to your Saves list
Plaza Conde de Carlet 1 | 46003, 46003 Valencia, Spain (La Seu)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 65 Valencia B&B and Inns
Mojacar, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“For me it was all about Mattheijs and Dany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Mindfulness Retreat, these two gentlemen went all out to make our stay as comfortable as possible. They went over and above all expectations and were a true joy to be with. I was more interested in talking to these two beautiful souls than exploring Valencia!
Dany puts is heart into the breakfasts. The fresh white table cloth is lovingly layered with fruits of all kinds, eggs served in an amazing antique china tiered server, a variety of breads and coissants, including delicious bread that Dany personally baked.
I am not comfortable with elevators, and upon knowing that Mattheijs took my arm and escorted me up or down the stairs whenever I left or returned to the house.
The only downside to the stay there was leaving our wonderful hosts.
In case you are wondering (as I do, when I read reviews) if this is a genuine review: I had never met Dany or Mattheijs before and I am not a family member and was not a friend prior to the visit.
You won't regret choosing Valencia Mindfulness Retreat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
85
73
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed for three nights. Was treated to a lot of personal care and good conversation. Accommodation is very pleasant and in a very nice location. All comforts provided. Thoughtful, relaxed and homely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great location, so close to everything, so easy! The rooms are big and comfy, and breakfast is amazing. We had a lovely time in Valencia, and this bed & breakfast is a small true gem. Dany and Mattias were really helpful in giving us some recommendations on restaurants

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I'm writing this review as somewhat of a re-review to help rebuild the online reputation of a bed and breakfast that was once regarded on trip advisor as the best in Valencia. I was speaking with Matthijs earlier this month and he mentioned that business had slowed a little with the recent rebranding to the Valencia Mindfulness Retreat so I offered to jump back onto Trip Advisor and migrate my review, for which I have found, has been completely removed from record. For a business that was built on word of mouth (they don't advertise in any other forum than their simple website) and that really had the luxury of selecting its guests from pools of willing travellers that would apply to stay, this change has essentially removed their presence from trip advisor and has had a profound effect on their patronage.

For a little background. I stayed at the B&B, previously known as the Valencia Mansion, in late 2011 with my brother and a friend. Their place is small, filled with character and so comfortable. Really airy with a great vantage point for early mornings and evenings over the alleyways below.

The service is really what sets this place apart and it just seemed like the guys bent over backwards to ensure that we were as happy as possible. You can tell that the guys love doing what they do and that really made our experience in Valencia. Mattheijs and Kaola made sure they were home to greet us when we arrived, sat us down and offered us all of their local knowledge while we enjoyed a little welcome drink and bite to eat.

Breakfasts every day were unreal and really set us up for great days out. I would reiterate every positive word issued in the reviews below.

As far as location was concerned, I couldn't think of any better. Right around the corner from Plaza del Virgen and much of what Valencia has to offer. It is the most beautiful, historic part of town. Incredibly safe location.

It is also incredibly affordable. You never really feel like this B&B is a business. Lodging is really inexpensive, they have a home bar guarded by their honesty pig and everything from clean luxurious towels to toiletries are supplied. You really feel like you are staying at a close friend's eclectically decorated town house.

I would recommend this place for couples especially, solo travellers and even groups of friends. The style of service is probably not suited for business travellers or families though I'm sure they would be accommodated.

Room Tip: There are only a handful, we liked them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dany D, Owner at Valencia Mindfulness Retreat, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear DNaidu,

With this note we would like to thank you very much for your very positive review of Bed and Breakfast Valencia Mindfulness Retreat. With a new concept and new faces to match, it warms
our hearts that guests from long ago make an effort to convey their recommendations for a
unique B&B-location in the city center of Valencia. Also we aim to keep the spirit going,
and hope to see you back at this unique location in Valencia. Even though a fresh start might
take some time to make name, we will do anything to live up to the expectations of our guests.
Thank you very much for your support, and also we hope to welcome you soon at a brand new
Bed and Breakfast in the center of Valencia! Warm wishes, Dany @ Valencia Mindfulness Retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Your balcony opens to morning sunshine on a quiet street, when the hustle & bustle of the vibrant historic center of town is just a block away. Two most gracious hosts meet you with Cava or tea and offer their local experience to help guide you to the sites and activities that you want to see. They're very friendly folks! Rooms are private, perfectly clean, and the breakfast is fantastic! If you're looking for a deviation from the normal business/chain hotel, this is the place to go. I think the value can't be beat. Will I go again? You bet!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I loved my stay here! I would recommend it especially for couples and for women travelling alone who wish to explore Valencia because the location couldn't be better, it is right off the Plaza del Virgen and steps away from the Cathedral. This is a gorgeous, historic neighborhood of Victorian townhomes. I felt very safe. I walked everywhere to all the major attractions and the hosts were very helpful with maps and recommendations. If you want the privacy of an anonymous chain hotel or motel, and you don't want to meet fellow travellers, this place would not suit you. However, if you want a very personal, European experience, I would recommend this place. Remember in "Eat Pray Love" Julia Roberts talked about "“il dolce far niente” (it is sweet to do nothing)? The high-celinged rooms, this Edwardian building, this entire neighborhood of Valencia, reminded me of that phrase. If I return to Valencia, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are different sizes; if you need lots of space or are a light sleeper, you should ask upfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Some places are all hustle and bustle. Some places are stark practices in antiseptic efficiency. I tend to feel stressed in these sorts of places. They're so sterile and regimented that it makes me want to be the same way, which is the last thing I want when going on vacation.

So when I encountered the Valencia Mindfulness Retreat, I was blown away. The ambiance, the people, the food, the cava, and the location created such a relaxed feeling within me, I didn't want to leave. Sitting in the meditation room or in the main salon, sipping cava, and listening to the bells of Valencia Cathedral are at the heart of my special memories of this place.

I can't return soon enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valencia Mindfulness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valencia Mindfulness Retreat

Address: Plaza Conde de Carlet 1 | 46003, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Valencia > La Seu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMFORT, STYLE AND COMPLETE RELAXATION in the heart of Valencia city center, Spain. Bed and Breakfast Valencia Mindfulness Retreat offers very comfortable private rooms in a historic Victorian Villa, smack in the the historical city center of Valencia. Located just around the corner from Valencia's famous Cathedral at Plaza de la Virgen, Barrio del Carmen. Included: Daily organic 'Five Star Champagne Breakfast', Coffee and tea making facilities, Use of two sunny lounge rooms with balconies, WiFi, Laundry service, Bottled spring water in all rooms, Use of 'Early Bird Meditation Room', Daily cleaning service and daily fresh fluffy towels, personalized 'Welcome to Valencia'-pack with map and local tips. ( Donation based 'honesty bar')Additional services include: Relaxing massages by expert certified therapists and yoga classes in our yoga-center at 20 steps from the B & B. If you like art, design, literature, comfort and class: you will feel right at home at the most central,safe and best rated Bed and Breakfast in Valencia: Travelers Choice Award for best B&B in Valencia 2014. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valencia Mindfulness Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.