We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal in Fresh Paella” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vicentino

Vicentino
San Vicente,3-5, 46002 Valencia, Spain
963522523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 2,108 Restaurants in Valencia
Price range: $19 - $52
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Spanish, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Brewery - restaurant of two floors in full historical center, elaborated kitchen, wide wine list and excellent relation quality - price. From his first floor, conference direct of the "Miguelete" and Cathedral. Assorted bar of great variety of lids, seafood and plates of daily and domestic production. Lounge deprived for events.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The Real Deal in Fresh Paella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We watched the fish being selected, the service was impeccable and the outcome was awesome. Coupled with our first try of "Aqua Valenciana" (orange juice and Cava - Spanish champagne) we truly enjoyed our best meal in Spain here. Try the fried tortilla - nothing like what you might expect - delicious. You won't regret choosing this place among the many possiblities in Valencia for Paella

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    93
    22
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Right on the historical center of Valencia..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Good fresh fish based tapas.. and paella to finish with (just a pinch of salty). You can have a partial view of the plaza.. good selection of wines. You wont be disappointed and fooled by other tourist trap restaurants in the plaza...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas, fresh seafood cooked to order.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

A very good tapas restaurant, very close to plaza la reina. Self service tapas sandwich style, € 1.90 each, large selection that you can just choose from put it in your plate, and in the end they will count the toothpick. You can also order a la carte, a portion or half of it, and note that not too many places allow you to order just half portion. I had some very good octopus salad, bocherones, meaning marinated anchovies, and then seafood salad, fried cod that we selected from a selection of fresh fodd and was then cooked to order, and several types of croissant and sandwiches, everything was good and fairly priced. Upstairs they have a restaurant with a full menu,including paella that looked quite good. Beers are also quite cheap for the area, € 1.90 a glass.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Better than many little joints in the center alleys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

After disappointingly trying a couple of small restaurants around plaza de la Reina we tried today Vicentino.
The food was excellent (try the tempura onions and tortilla-mouth watering!) the place is very well kept, impeccably clean and with good table service. Not really a typical local restaurant, excellent nonetheless!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicentinos, Propietario at Vicentino, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We try to give the best in our food and we allways believe that every people who visits our restaurant is a friend that will be return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Vicentino is situated close to the centre of the old town of Valencia and is in a convenient location but on a noisy road.
On our first visit we had decided on paella & chose the Valencian version (€15/person) which is made with chicken & rabbit & vegetables. It was nice enough & presented in a huge paella pan (about 40cm diameter) so looked impressive.We had also shared a decent mixed salad as a starter. The bill for this together with 2 drinks was €55.

Next time we tried the seafood paella (17€/head) and this was disappointing. There were some small prawns, a few bits of squid and 3 large prawns each. We had expected something much more seafoody with a greater selection of fish. Our tapas type starter of anchovies was good but a very small portion.
Overall we thought the food was overpriced. Later in our holiday we saw many paellas being eaten in restaurants offering better looking dishes much cheaper. Try looking at the smaller places in the back streets for more ambience and a cheaper meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vicentino also viewed

Valencia, Valencia Province
Valencia, Valencia Province
 

Been to Vicentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vicentino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.